Skip main navigation

What Homeowners Have to Say About Fulton Homes in Phoenix-Mesa

Read the 199 homeowner reviews of Fulton Homes's new homes in the Phoenix Mesa area. Phoenix Mesa homeowners rated Fulton Homes an average 4.3 stars for the quality of their new homes and their commitment to customer service. You can read all of Fulton Homes’s reviews, to learn why their homeowners loved working with them, and why you should partner with them build your dream home.

4.3 out of 5 stars
in the Phoenix-Mesa area

star-rating

199 Reviews - 14 Communities

5 ★(119)

4 ★(38)

3 ★(24)

2 ★(12)

1 ★(6)

Quality 4.2

Trustworthiness 4.3

Value 4.3

Responsiveness 4.1

star-rating Overpromised, Underdelivered.

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Miguel S.
  • Goodyear, AZ
  • August 25, 2020

From a hospitality standpoint, literally every person we have met and dealt with has been polite, courteous, and has provided exceptional customer service. We would like to personally recognize Albert over at the sales office. This man truly seems to care about his clients, always remembered our names, and always made us feel welcome. Now, on to Fulton Homes as our builder. Our discontent began with something as simple as having the incorrect Elevation on the sign in front of our lot. We would like to think that before construction the error would’ve been rectified but given our experience further down the road we don’t think so. This small error was the first “sign” of things to come. Not long after our Design Center appointment, my wife and I gave an upgrade a second thought and decided to call Albert to see if it would be too late to add. The upgrade was for the extra padding in our carpet. Albert made a call and he was told that it was too late as “the order was already submitted.” Not a big deal, this was our fault for not having decided at the center. We had our frame walk soon after where we ran into two major issues. First, there was an opening for a garage service door. We had opted out of that but figured if the opening is already there, it would probably cost more money to fill in the opening than it would to just add the door. Rick, made a call and was informed that if we wanted to keep it we had to pay for it. Sure, this makes sense. What bothered us was the fact that this change could be made but at this point in the construction but our upgrading carpet padding could not. This was the first time we felt undervalued by Fulton Homes. We respectfully declined and asked Rick to ensure that opening was filled properly and to update us with pictures, which he did. Another major issue we ran into during our frame walk was the grouting sealing the framing before drywall. Holes literally throughout the entire base of the house, we could not believe the lack of quality here. Rick saw it right away and we walked the whole house together. Rick had his workers go out and take care of that within the week. Rocio and I came back a couple of weekends later to STILL see holes. We communicated to Albert who communicated to Rick and this issue was eventually resolved. The list unfortunately goes on after that. The metal lath was not done properly in a lot of areas ESPECIALLY the corners, that also included the weep screed. Corners weren’t edged off like they were supposed to, there were sharp edges sticking out for the most part. The wire wasn’t tucked in around windows as they should. Some of these, not all, were taken care of after we pointed out said issues. Since not all of the areas of concern were addressed, we have some wire and the weep screed corners sticking out of the stucco in certain parts of the house. This doesn't include the issues we had with the incorrect sinks in the bathrooms that had to be replaced a few times and our master bath shower panels that were incorrect. Delivery of home: As much attention as we try to place on the final walkthrough before delivery, inevitably we were going to miss some items. Some items unfortunately you don’t notice until you conduct an in-depth cleaning. Outside - While moving we noticed that the walkway leading up to the house is not leveled and is slanted TOWARDS the home instead of away, which is concerning for those days of rain. The folks that did the pavers in the front didn’t level them and just tacked on the pavers on top of the dirt. You can see the difference in the installation compared to our neighbors. We also have an unnecessary ditch in front of our gate. Should’ve been patched back up with dirt and the gate should sit higher than where it is. Inside the home we’ve found some issues that seem minor but honestly shouldn’t have been issues to begin with. We noticed when we cleaned that the kickboard was not nailed in correctly and bends inward. The other large item was the craftsmanship of the tile. We were very disappointed when we notice how uneven the tiles are around the home, one of our tables wobbles because of differentiating heights of each tile, in some locations you can see how the spacing in between the grout is inconsistent narrowing in some locations, misalignments, cracks in some of the tiles and lack of grout in some areas. Enough to where you can feel the corners of each tile while walking barefoot. In addition to other issues with the painting and the overall details of home. John, has gracefully been helping us out with some of these issues however we feel that there should be more care placed in who does the work since one of the values is craftsmanship. Had my wife not been 32 weeks pregnant we more than likely wouldn’t have taken the keys until the home was up to the standards Fulton Homes advertises. We were greatly disappointed in the quality we received when we moved considering what we’ve invested in the home. This is not our first new build and honestly, at a lower price range we received better quality with our previous builder. I don’t know if anything will come of this review however, we hope this helps create more consciousness so that the newer homeowners don’t have to go through the same issues we did. We will reiterate the fact that everyone we’ve dealt with at Fulton has been great and has provided great customer service with the exception of the landscape company Fulton is partnered with (Poco Verde). Contacted them and till this day they haven’t reached out which forced us to use another landscape company. ... More

star-rating Eventually Fulton came through with a great home.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • Gilbert, AZ
  • April 22, 2020

The home was nowhere near ready when we moved in. It has been very inconvenient having workers come back for warranty work that should have been prior to closing. It has been over five months now and we are still waiting for things to be fixed that we brought up during construction. ... More

Fulton Homes responded:
Thank you for sending in your survey. It is only through communication like this that we are able to solve any outstanding issues. Please e-mail customercare@fultonhomes.com so that we can contact you.
Thanks,
Fulton Homes fultonhomes
... More

star-rating In the pass I had heard good fact about Fulton homes But I have been greatly disappointed in the follow up.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Francine B.
  • Gilbert, AZ
  • January 19, 2021

I have found that Fulton Homes have let me down in responding to items that have not been corrected or completed with my home. I was very disappointed in the design center help that I received. More disappointed in Fulton follow up.

star-rating Not following through on promises

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Tiana S.
  • Queen Creek, AZ
  • July 28, 2020

There were unfinished items on the house at my orientation, and by move in they still weren’t fixed. The person who did my walkthrough wanted me to sign that everything was completed because he “promised it would all get done”. Everyone was so nice until I stood my ground and refused to sign that paper essentially stating something that was false. I demanded we write ALL unfinished items on there before I sign, and since I did that it’s like a switch flipped in their attitude. They’ve been rude, and it’s now 45 days later and still waiting on some of the items to be fixed. Also, Fulton design center will tell you that upgraded items have features that they actually don’t.. just to get your sale (I’m sure they make commission on the total of add ons). I was sold on a certain level of cabinets because I was told by the “design expert” that the doors would be flush when they close- more modern look. He assured me that the doors that open into the same cabinet would be flush together. The only space would be between cabinet doors that were opposite if that makes sense. So basically where it skips to the next cabinet there would be a gap between the doors, but when the doors open together those would be flush. Well now, only 3 of my cabinets in my kitchen are flush. The rest are gapped and it’s looks so wonky and ugly! They’re claiming that the size of the cabinets In The other spots cannot have those flush doors even though they do open together. Well, then don’t sell homeowners on a feature that can’t be accomplished in their home. They have access to the floorplan, everything. They should have known better to sell on a feature that couldn’t be installed in my home. Now I paid about $5000 for cabinets that are not what I was sold on, and they look ridiculous. I’ve been discussing with customer service and it’s turning into a he said she said situation and they’re saying basically there’s nothing they can do. I wrote on my inspection prior to signing on the home that these were not the cabinet doors I paid for. Something needs to be done to correct this! ... More

star-rating Fulton contractors

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Robert M.
  • Queen Creek, AZ
  • March 25, 2021

Fulton uses 3rd party contractors to delivery services and appliances. These companies failed to contact regarding delivery times and are not flexible to the customer. Fulton has yet to fulfill multiple appliance deliveries. Not a single item was fixed from walkthrough to taking possession of the home. Maintenance requests remain un-answered. While the housing market has boomed Fulton has used the COVID pandemic to under serve their commitment to the customer. ... More

star-rating They rush to close

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Keith T.
  • Queen Creek, AZ
  • May 26, 2020

We have been in our home for over a month now and we are still waiting for them to fix things that were addressed during the walkthrough.

Fulton Homes responded:
Keith ,

Thank you for returning our survey. According our records everything was repaired at the end of last month. If that is not the case, please go to your MyFultonHomes account and open up a new work order.

Thanks,

Fulton Homes fultonhomes
... More

star-rating It's a about the details!

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Anonymous
  • Chandler, AZ
  • May 05, 2020

We loved our sales representative Tom but after him it goes downhill. The attention to detail just wasn't there. Even the day of our final walk through the gentleman said he has never seen such poor attention to detail. Doug Fulton is to far removed to see that his company is on the downhill slide unless they focus on detail. ... More

star-rating Fulton Homes - My experience was not what I was expecting overall for a new

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Eric M.
  • Goodyear, AZ
  • March 18, 2021

My experience was not what I was expecting overall for a new home.

Fulton Homes responded:
Thanks for returning our survey. We are sorry to hear that your experience was not what you were expecting. Since we don't know in what areas you are referring to, please contact CustomerCare@FultonHomes.com if there are unresolved issues.

Thanks,

Fulton Homes fultonhomes
... More

star-rating Frustrating and stressful

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Ronnie D.
  • Gilbert, AZ
  • November 03, 2020

I felt that whole new home buying experienced this time was more stressful and very frustrating at times. I fell that the process did not allow us much choice on spec home we added up purchasing. Communications between buyer, agent and design center representative experience was very frustrating. It seems that due to lack of prompt feedback, we were not given a chance to correct a mistake rather hear a response of “that is not what was discussed and it’s too late to make any changes”. As a homebuyer that invested in such expensive property, the Feeling of satisfaction as new homeowner is not gratifying in my opinion. ... More

Fulton Homes responded:
We are sorry that the purchase of a "spec" or inventory home did not allow you enough choices on selections. One of the advantages in buying an inventory home is that you can move in much quicker than doing a new build and you can select everything. Many people think that being able to select the major portions of the home works for them. In your case, you had complete selection freedom on countertops, backsplashes, bathroom finishes, all flooring, all cabinets (except for Karmen) all appliances (except a chimney hood configuration was already done), all window coverings, all hardscapes, and all landscaping. To many people that is an ample selection in which to personalize a home. It looks like a more suitable approach for you was the do a new build, so that every single option could have been selected by you. We are sorry that we were not able to make the changes that you had wanted as the home was already under construction.

Sincerely,

Fulton Homes fultonhomes
... More

star-rating Frustrated

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Monica S.
  • Queen Creek, AZ
  • May 05, 2020

We have had many issues that were addressed prior to moving in that have still have not been fixed, Torrey the guy who we were supposed to be able to contact works very limited hours (his words) and also never responded to calls or texts. I had to call fultons office to get someone else to help. Some of the trades have come back and the work has still not been completed, or they did the job again horribly. My counters in the kitchen are horrible, my white cabinets look like they were in another home before mine, the list goes on. I don’t even know why these surveys are filled out because I’m sure nothing will be done. ... More

star-rating Fulton Homes - It took over a year to complete our new build.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Sandra B.
  • Chandler, AZ
  • April 22, 2020

It took over a year to complete our new build. There was no communication from Fulton Homes unless we had questions. I would not recommend Fulton Homes as the communications with them was difficult. The home was not complete when we closed on the home and it took another 2 to 3 weeks before completion. I would not recommend Fulton Homes! ... More

star-rating Disappointed!

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Vikrant S.
  • Gilbert, AZ
  • March 16, 2021

I had very high hopes from a Fulton home, but I must say I am very disappointed. Even after delay in closing, our new house was not ready the day we moved in. Our AC was malfunctioning and there were AC guys in there trying to fix it. They had 6 months to do that! Left a mess in our master closet. Once we moved in we immediately realized that something is not right. Half of the upstairs was getting significantly hotter and it was difficult to even stay there. We called the AC guys thinking it's an AC issue. The guy went up the attic to check only to find THERE IS NO INSULATION!!! How can that be? How can you miss insulation in ARIZONA!? We raised the request for this and it was taken care of but my family had to deal with the odor it leaves behind for days. Now it makes me wonder what else was not done? I am not ripping my walls or going up my attic to check everything. There are several other issues that are still being resolved. Very disappointed in the workmanship and entire process. ... More

Fulton Homes responded:
Thank you for answering our survey. We apologize for the inconvenience and also for the delay in construction. The whole market is extremely busy right now, but that is not excuse for making mistakes. In looking up your warranty record it appears that the AC and insulation issues have been resolved. If anything else needs attention please use your MyFultonHome account and let us know if we can do anything else.

Thanks again,

Fulton Homes fultonhomes
... More

star-rating Proud to build? Not proud to own

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Gilbert, AZ
  • April 22, 2020

Multiple issues that were pointed out during final walk thru were not resolved before move in date. 4 months later some are still not repaired. Doors and baseboards look “chewed up on bottom” and just painted over. Grout 2-3 inches up the sides of baseboards throughout the house. Crooked deco tile that sinks back into the wall - tile work throughout the house is horrible. Soft grout in shower walls that you can wipe off with a wet washcloth and as a result grout was discolored throughout the shower ($8000 upgrade through the design center) Fultons solution was to use a stain to harden the grout and even the colors. The grout now looks like it was painted with high gloss latex paint. House is nowhere near the quality of the models. This is a clearly a case of the tail (subcontractors) wagging the dog(fulton). If you really want a Fulton home don’t close escrow before everything is done to your satisfaction. Only good thing about it is it gives me something in common with my neighbors. Several of us have similar issues. Truly, I cant tell you how disappointed I am. I suggest looking at the other builders homes. ... More

Fulton Homes responded:
Thanks for sending back your survey. We are sorry that we we unable to meet your expectations, and really want to complete everything to your satisfaction. Please e-mail us at customercare@fultonhomes,com so that we can contact you and resolve any issues.
Thanks,
Fulton Homes fultonhomes
... More

star-rating Confidence in Builder was lost in the process

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • Chandler, AZ
  • April 22, 2020

Used a third party certified inspector who found major items that needed correcting that were missed by the homebuilders inspections. Some of the items were not corrected because they said simply, "it passed code". Passing codes is not quality of workmanship or materials as advertised by the homebuilder. ... More

Fulton Homes responded:
Thanks for submitting your review. We would be happy to come out and review any issues that still might be outstanding. Please send an e-mail to customercare@fultonhomes.com, so we know who to contact.
Thanks,
Fulton Homes fultonhomes
... More

star-rating QUALITY

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • Maricopa, AZ
  • March 26, 2021

Make sure the same company that built their model homes is still contracted with them. My home does not look like Model Home quality and I am not talking about upgrades just the entire cosmetic part. Drywall and paint are horrible. They delivered me a very very dirty house, didn't even have the decency to clean it up. Also, make sure you as them about the yard...I get you don't have a landscape included but it does come with a lot of trash... dirt unleveled and wow. Supervisors are very nice and they try to work things out, but they have to listen to the big boss Fulton who is just not taking care of the little things. Overall a bit of a frustrating move but I will have to just make the best of it and try to get them resolved. I hope this helps the next person who will be buying a home with Fulton. ... More

star-rating The location and the look of the model.

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Patricia T.
  • Goodyear, AZ
  • December 08, 2020

The salesman always seemed to be in a rush and important information always changed, trust was lost with the sales person. Items that needed to be fixed takes weeks to be addressed then when they come out to address the items they make another appointment that’s scheduled weeks away, so more waiting to fix the issues. When they finally come back to fix the issues, the wrong products were ordered so then they make another appointment. So now the next appointment is 2021. ... More

star-rating Fulton Homes - As a second time home buyer my experience has been subpar at

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Shante R.
  • Goodyear, AZ
  • November 12, 2020

As a second time home buyer my experience has been subpar at best.... I am disappointed in the way the home was delivered, the follow up on issues, and the lack of attention to my concerns.

star-rating They just don't care. They sell houses, people buy them. Good Luck.

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Queen Creek, AZ
  • September 15, 2020

There are a few great people who were super helpful in getting things fixed and right in my house before and after move in, however, Fulton as a whole is a no go for me ever again. Left much to be desired through out the whole experience. The design center is way over priced, the AC set up is shotty and they really don't care (and being in AZ...that is unacceptable), and they really are just there to make money. Had to fight tooth and nail to get things done, they don't care about your timeline, personal time, or money. ... More

Fulton Homes responded:
Thank you for returning our survey. We are sorry that you are disappointed with your experience although it is good to hear that you were pleased that some of our personnel were very helpful. If there are any other outstanding issues, please use your MyFultonHome account to address warranty issues. The vast majority of our buyers find that our pricing at our Design Center is quite reasonable, and we are sorry that you do not seem to share that viewpoint.

Thanks again,

Fulton Homes fultonhomes
... More

star-rating The sales people said they would get things done/fixed but construction didnt follow through.

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Ethan L.
  • Maricopa, AZ
  • January 27, 2021

Build process was a mess, construction managers did not keep an eye on trades who did shabby work in all areas. Now that home is finished we have found many things jerry rigged and patched just enough to hide faulty repairs until after close. Cant even use Master Shower do to leaks in floor tile. 2 weeks after moving into home we found one of AC units was not even hooked up to run. Sales team said to put it in for warranty. What a mess this has been! Save yourself some stress and look elsewhere. ... More

Fulton Homes responded:
Ethan ,

Thanks for responding to our survey. We are sorry that your experience was less than spectacular. If there are any other issues, please use your MyFultonHome account to record them. Again, we are sorry for your inconvenience.

Sincerely,

Fulton Homes fultonhomes
... More

star-rating The lack of communication, and just not caring about their customer.

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Lance H.
  • Gilbert, AZ
  • January 27, 2021

You need to stay on top of your home from day one. Check in with PM, walk home daily. They don't care about the quality of work provided by their workforce.

Fulton Homes responded:
Lance ,
Thanks for sending in your survey. t appears that we fell short in the daily construction of your home. for that we are sorry. If there are any other items that need attention, please use your MyFultonHome account.

Sincerely,

Fulton Homes fultonhomes
... More

star-rating How absolutely awful and eye piercing they made it.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Brittany H.
  • Gilbert, AZ
  • March 11, 2021

My experience with Fulton ensured I would never purchase a new build with them again. I have absolutely no trust with what they tell you. Tom the salesman specifically was absolutely miserable to deal with. Beyond our house being delayed 3 months without a reason why the customer service was worse then I’ve experienced anywhere. I couldn’t get a resolution to any concern. I even went as far as reaching out to corporate and had no luck there. A simple phone call back would have gone a long way. ... More

Fulton Homes responded:
Thank you for returning our survey. We can only improve our performance by listening to customers like you. I am sorry for the construction delay, as we never give out closing dates, it is difficult to determine how that perception manifests itself. If you have any issues with your home please use your MyFultonHome account to let us know what we can do. Again we are sorry that we fell short of your expectations.
Sincerely,

Fulton Homes fultonhomes
... More

star-rating Fulton Homes - I would recommend getting a home inspection.

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Lilia R.
  • Goodyear, AZ
  • December 04, 2020

I would recommend getting a home inspection..they will not repair anything even if they acknowledge the item was defective

Fulton Homes responded:
We agree that getting a home inspection is a good idea. If there are any items that need attention, please go to your MyFultonHome account and let us know. We want you to have everything in top condition in your Fulton Home. Thank you for responding to our survey.

Fulton Homes fultonhomes
... More

star-rating Terrible quality. Not proud to own...

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Slawomir S.
  • Maricopa, AZ
  • November 17, 2020

The worst experience ever... Uneven walls, terrible wall texture, painters who don't know how to paint, sticking out nails, leaking faucets, water damagein brand new cabinets...I can keep on going...Our doors were never painted just primed. Same with bathroom ceilings. Past 30 days after closing, and stuff still not fixed. Always excuses. I wish Mr. Fulton could come and see quality of his houses, but I think he is more busy counting his money...My invite stays open for him. Advice to every buyer, don't sign anything until they'll fix everything. Once they have your money, their attitude changes. ... More

star-rating Fulton Homes purchase

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Queen Creek, AZ
  • May 26, 2020

In my opinion, worst build quality I've ever seen from a builder who extols its virtues as a quality home builder. Regardless if new construction, use a reputable home inspection service and demand from builder accountability for any anomalous conditions inspection may reveal. For me, that's when Fulton representatives went into denial/excuse mode. My advice is, once buyer gets past builder's denial narrative, either walk away from purchase or remain and document defects and demand redress in a timely fashion. If I knew then what I know now about Fulton Homes poor build quality, I would've run, not walked away from purchase. ... More

Fulton Homes responded:
We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations with regards to the construction of your home. . Please go onto your MyFultonHome as list any items that you are concerned with.


Thanks,
Fulton Homes fultonhomes
... More