Skip main navigation

What Homeowners Have to Say About Highland Homes

Highland Homes has reputation for building quality new construction homes. Their satisfied homeowners give them an average rating of 4.5 stars for their beautiful floor plans and affordable upgrades, their skilled craftsmanship, and commitment to customer service on each house they build. You can read all of Highland Homes’s 1051 homeowner reviews to learn why they are the right team to build your new home.

4.5 out of 5 stars
in all areas

star-rating

1051 Reviews - 136 Communities

5 ★(745)

4 ★(139)

3 ★(84)

2 ★(45)

1 ★(38)

Quality 4.3

Trustworthiness 4.5

Value 4.4

Responsiveness 4.4

star-rating Not too impressive

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Conroe, TX
  • August 09, 2019

No attention to detail. A lot of small problems that could have been quick fixes were ignored. Took too much time replacing or repairing items.

Highland Homes responded:
Hi There,

I’m sorry that this has been your home buying experience and I appreciate you writing us a review as it better helps us to understand areas of improvement. If you have any questions or concerns, please continue to reach out to our team and thank you for being a Highland Homeowner! highlandhomes
... More

star-rating Average Home with Excellent Customer Service

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Anonymous
  • Humble, TX
  • April 30, 2019

Home is average, had multiple issues upon moving in but the service and timeliness to tend to the issues were excellent. I must commend the sales/ construction management team on their service, but I would not buy nor recommend a Highland home to anyone. ... More

Highland Homes responded:
Hi There,

Thank you for your kind words about our sales/construction team and the level of service the they provided! I am sorry to hear that you would not recommend Highland and if there is anything that we can do to help please let us know! Thank you for being a Highland Homeowner! highlandhomes
... More

star-rating Great Sales Team and Builder - but industry lacks skilled workers!!

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 5

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Michael A.
  • Roanoke, TX
  • December 20, 2018

Love the people at Highland Homes and their home designs. The home building industry has a shortage of qualified skilled labor so end product suffers. I have maybe two walls in the house that does not have a texture/paint flaws. I thought a half million dollar product would look better. I think all builders have the same problems though. Again the people at Highland Homes are OUTSTANDING!!! ... More

Highland Homes responded:
Hi Michael,

Thank you for your kind words about our team and our home designs as that means a great deal to us! I am very sorry that these issues arose while building your home and after speaking with our team I am optimistic that we will be able to come to a resolution. Thank you again for your positive remarks about our team and please let us know if there is any additional way that we can be of service. Thank you for being a Highland Homeowner! highlandhomes
... More

star-rating Highland Homes - Overall, we are happy with our home.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Anonymous
  • Arlington, TX
  • December 20, 2018

Overall, we are happy with our home...but there are little things we think Highland could have done better at. Since moving in we've found things that either the construction manager or the subs should have caught before releasing the home. For instance - uneven grout, tiles with clearly visible chips, wobbly paint lines, inoperable or poorly installed data cables, and overall cleaning prior to release. I will say that when brought to the attention of the builder, they have been quick to remedy. Like I said, we are happy with the house but I doubt we will go with Highland if and when we need to move to a larger home. Although a semi-custom builder, don't believe they really took the time to make sure the house it perfect. More concerned with closing and moving on to the next house in line. ... More

Highland Homes responded:
Hi Naim,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review as it helps us to better understand areas of improvement. I am sorry that this was your experience and I am glad that you were able to connect with our warranty team to get these issues resolved quickly! Thank you for being a Highland Homeowner! highlandhomes
... More

star-rating Waterscape review

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Anonymous
  • Royse City, TX
  • December 18, 2018

I believe that I got a great home, however there were many things that had to be done well after the move in. I believe it was rushed and therefore much was missed. The employees of highland however have been really great and truly want to help so that has made it easier to deal with things that were missed. Overall it is a great place to live and a great builder to purchase with. The biggest thing they need to work on is finishing everything to the customers expectations and get a new cleaning crew!!!! I had to pay over $400 after moving in just to get my house clean! Worst cleaning crew ever!!!! If they continue to use the ladies they are using now expect to have to clean your house multiple times over just to get it livable to expectations! Paint is still on my floors, caulk in the drains, grout in the drains, trash in the yard. Windows I’m still cleaning 2 months after the fact due to paint on them I can’t get off. Just unacceptable for a $300k plus home. Other than that they are good! ... More

Highland Homes responded:
Hi,
I really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review about your home buying experience. It better helps us to understand which areas need our attention and I am pleased that we were able to find a resolution that works best for you on the cleanliness of your home so that you feel comfortable. If you have any questions or concerns, please continue to reach out to our team and thank you for being a Highland Homeowner! highlandhomes
... More

star-rating Highland Homes - Finish work and muniltipul other problems found with the house.

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Corey L.
  • Humble, TX
  • December 01, 2020

Finish work and muniltipul other problems found with the house.

star-rating Loosely Managed.. Unprepared for Closing

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Round Rock, TX
  • October 27, 2020

The product and floorplans are great, but the contractors repeatedly made mistakes and many did not put much care into their workmanship. Management failed to communicate effectively and oversee the quality of the project, leaving a long list of repairs and fixes that had to be completed post-closing. We had contractors in and out of our house for two months after we moved in, and although everything was made right in the end, it was a very frustrating and inconvenient process. If you build with Highland, visit the site often, and triple check all of the specs. We visited nearly every week and still, items were missed. Take detailed notes about brick and grout colors, and pay attention to tile spacing... and when it comes to baseboards and trim, make sure they don't use MDF. It was the only no cost option we were given, even though they admit there's no good way to install it (nail holes swell preventing you from ever having a smooth surface). ... More

star-rating Highland Homes - The Highland sales representative was knowledgeable and extremely

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Jean L.
  • Forney, TX
  • October 04, 2020

The Highland sales representative was knowledgeable and extremely easy to work with. I believe my project manager made his best effort to handle the many issues that I'm sure are common to a new build but there's a good possibility he was juggling too many things at one time. He probably needs an assistant to keep him on track. He hasn't been great at responding to texts and/or phone calls. I believe he's sincere in his desire to do a good job but I still have some minor things that need addressing. I would recommend Highland Homes but definitely with a word of caution - don't allow issues to slide and hope things will eventually work out in the long run. ... More

star-rating Rushed Build

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Kyle, TX
  • September 29, 2020

I feel like the build was rushed in order to meet the closing date. This allowed for things to be missed and unfinished. I love the Floorplan and the house in general.

Highland Homes responded:
Hi there,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review and I’m so happy that you love your floorplan and the house in general. I am sorry to hear that you thought the build process was rushed and after speaking with our team, I’m glad that we were able discuss these concerns with you and find a resolution that works best for you! Please let our team know if there is any additional way that we can be of service and thank you for being a Highland Homeowner! highlandhomes
... More

star-rating Poor finish work and several errors.

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Anonymous
  • San Antonio, TX
  • August 25, 2020

The finish work of our home was below par. The building manager did a great job addressing the items. If I could do it over I would not have closed until the majority of the items were corrected.

Highland Homes responded:
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to leave a response about your experience. I am sorry to hear of your displeasure with some of the finish work items, but very pleased to hear you are happy with our Construction Manager. After speaking with our team, I am pleased to hear our Construction Manager met with you after your closing as well as recently followed up to ensure these items were resolved and that all is now alright with your home. We pride ourselves in providing all of our customers with the highest quality home possible and are committed to our customers throughout the home-building process and after, and throughout the warranty period, to help get everything completed and to your satisfaction. Our goal is to provide quick attention to your concerns and pride ourselves on quality and customer service! Thank you for being a Highland Homes customer. highlandhomes ... More

star-rating Good people quality and trades used could be better

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Chase G.
  • Conroe, TX
  • August 25, 2020

From the beginning of the process, December 2019, Megan, our sales rep, went above and beyond to answer our questions or concerns that we had. We purchased our property before our section of the neighborhood had been started and before Highland officially started building in the neighborhood so there were growing pains associated with that. The whole process could have been streamlined had we known every option that was available from the start. Throughout the whole process we had to essentially inundate our sales rep with questions about things we could have put in the house, things that are now readily available to all purchases, ie. Black exterior and interior windows. Megan did her best to get our questions answered asap but it seemed like corporate didn't have the answers themselves. Again, Megan went above and beyond and did an amazing job. Overall quality of the house...some aspects are good and others not so much. The trim work around the house is sub par and cheap. The caulking used to seal has already started splitting, seams and taping on the drywall have started splitting, which was explained to us by our construction manager is not covered to have repaired by highland since its from settling. Correction tape and floating issues are covered but not seems in the caulking and nail pops. One of our corners in the kitchen trim is wonky and not plum, neither is the wall. Exterior paint job is spotty and shotty and the trades used throughout the process have zero respectability in their work. Touch up done on trim around the house was not painted properly after repairs were made to it. Stain in the master bathroom tub hasn't been able to be removed. Cracks on the corners of walls, and the list goes on. For a company that I've heard nothing but good things about some of the work quality is lower than builder grade at best. Need to be more attentive to the trades they hire and be on-site more to make sure they're doing their jobs and cleaning up their trash. I should not be finding fragments, large fragments at that, of brick and trash throughout my yard under flower beds and sod. ... More

star-rating Could have been better

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Roger C.
  • Hutto, TX
  • July 28, 2020

We were very excited to build with Highland for the 2nd time. We were impressed with the standard features and incentives offered this time around. Once we moved in we started experiencing one problem after another:the a/c drip line wasn’t connected to the drain causing the washing machine to dump an entire load of waste water into the walls. The issue was addressed immediately by the emergency plumber and Sean sent a restoration company to pull baseboards and set fans to dry the walls out. It was an oversight that should have been caught during several different inspections. It was very inconvenient but it was handled as well as it could have been. Then the dryer didn’t work. It turns out the plug was wired 110 instead of 220, which meant holes had to be cut in the walls in the laundry room and bedroom. The garage door opener and plugs suddenly didn’t work, turns out they moved a plug in the garage and didn’t connect all the wires. The garage door doorknob fell off in my hand. We still haven’t gotten the USB plugs, which are a standard feature, installed. One of the bedroom door frame boards has all sorts of chunks and notches taken out and the painters decided to remove the blue tape without fixing it. There was a lot of that from our final walkthrough. There are a many imperfections that weren’t fixed/touched up. It’s unfortunate that there isn’t much pride in workmanship anymore. Things that should have been done right the first time are now going to have to be addressed by the warranty department. I’m making a list. ... More

Highland Homes responded:
Hi Roger,

Thank you for making the decision to build with us again! I appreciate you taking the time to leave us your feedback on the build process as we value this feedback as it better helps us to understand what we are doing well and where there are areas for improvement. I am sorry that this was your experience during the process and can understand your frustration. I have spoken with our Construction Manager to confirm that any outstanding concerns have been addressed. Again, thank you very much for your review and being a Highland Homeowner. If you have any additional questions or feedback, please let our Warranty team know. Thank you! highlandhomes
... More

star-rating Highland and Mayfield Ranch Review

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Round Rock, TX
  • May 19, 2020

Be sure to have specific lists and items you wish to discuss with your builder contact before meeting. Spend time doing the walkthroughs and stay positive and appreciative of their time and effort. They are working with big issues related to the virus and the processes involved with getting items addressed in your new home. ... More

star-rating Solving problem

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Anonymous
  • Richmond, TX
  • May 13, 2020

They response issue but they don’t solve the problem. And the materials quality are not good.

Highland Homes responded:
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your new Highland Home! I am sorry that this was your experience and I am glad that you were able to connect with our warranty team to discuss your concerns! Thank you for being a Highland Homeowner! highlandhomes ... More

star-rating Expected more from a builder well know in area

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 5

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Scott E.
  • Prosper, TX
  • March 02, 2020

It took a while to have plumbing issue resolved. Quality is not up to standards, I would expect, as corners were cut. Tile in downstairs bathroom is cracked and hidden in corner, wall to upstairs was poorly batched and noticeable, cheap paint throughout house. ... More

Highland Homes responded:
Hi Scott,

I’m so sorry that this has been your experience with your new home as we pride ourselves on the quality of products used and finishes of our homes! Thank you for bringing this to our attention and I am pleased to hear that we are in the process of working through these concerns with you to better help meet your expectations! If you have any questions or concerns, please continue to reach out to our team and thank you for being a Highland Homeowner! highlandhomes
... More

star-rating Enjoyed our new home...but construction is noise is unbearable

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Thomas A.
  • Northlake, TX
  • January 14, 2020

We have been here about a month and a half. We find the house build very nice........but as we are in Harvest, a community in the works, it is 8 PM in the evening, and one street over, there is still heavy construction vehicles working! This is after a day of loud blaring music from the construction workers on the house next door. I THOUGHT THERE WERE POSTED HOURS for deliveries and construction. Had I not have to get up for work at 3 AM for work, i might not see this as important.......but this is very annoying! ... More

star-rating Average

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Frisco, TX
  • January 07, 2020

This was my fourth highland to build. Still a good builder but their quality and flexibility has slipped.

Highland Homes responded:
Hi There,

Thank you so much for being a continued Highland Homeowner! I am sorry that this was your experience while building your fourth Highland Home, as we pride ourselves on the quality of products used and finishes of our homes! We also try our best to be as flexible and accommodating to requests as we can throughout the build process but can be limited when a home has reached a certain stage in the process. Thank you very much for your review and for being a fourth time Highland Homeowner! Please let our Warranty team know if there is any additional way that we can be of service. highlandhomes
... More

star-rating Excited and Disappointed

Quality star-rating 5

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • John L.
  • Round Rock, TX
  • November 13, 2019

We absolutely love our house, we tried to be a part of it through much of the process. Timelines and apparent work shortages cause us to do an initial walkthru before the house was even complete. Not everything identified was fixed prior to purchase and now that everything has to go through "warranty" service and response has dwindled considerably. We still have a laundry list of items and haven't heard much from highland. Up until this point we felt much more positive about our overall experience, just seems typical now to forget the customer once the home is delivered. ... More

Highland Homes responded:
Hi John,

Thank you for your review and I am so glad that you love your house! I am sorry that this was your experience while closing on your home and after speaking with our team, I am pleased that we were able to work to resolve those items for you. As for the items that you have in your warranty request, we will diligently work to take care of those quickly. Thank you again for your review and using our warranty request procedure. If you have any questions or additional items, please continue to reach out to our warranty team and we are glad that you are a Highland Homeowner! highlandhomes
... More

star-rating Very Slow Service After the Sale

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Carlos L.
  • Hutto, TX
  • September 24, 2019

Overall, the sales process, lender and closing services with the title company was very good. However, the operations, ( builder and warranty service) has been less than satisfactory. It took serval calls to get someone to respond to our requests for warranty service. Our original builder did a walk through the less then a week before closing and a final one a day before closing. There were still issues with our house the day before we closed. The were some things wrong with our home that that was very obvious and which should have been addressed, yet he chose not to. We have someone else assigned to us due to the fact that our original builder's unsatisfactory response for service and the fact that he waited until the day before closing to do a walkthrough with us. The fact that there were details that still needed to be addressed and/or corrected a day before is completely inexcusable. Also, we were the ones who had to reach to builder to request a walkthrough, when it should have been the other way around. ... More

star-rating Hurried to Finish

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Rick G.
  • Lago Vista, TX
  • August 13, 2019

Highland Homes hurried to finish my house leaving several items unfinished or not working. The construction manager soon left the company leaving my house incomplete. The replacement construction manager did make sure unfinished and broken items were completed but it took significant time. The house is nice with some technology upgrades but some design aspects like garage size are problematic. ... More

star-rating Promises not met

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Douglas N.
  • Anna, TX
  • April 09, 2019

Address all issues before close

star-rating Decent Starter home builder

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Mark H.
  • Spring, TX
  • March 21, 2019

Average home builder...

star-rating Mixed Emotions on Highland

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Brad B.
  • Leander, TX
  • January 08, 2019

Overall we were pleased with our home, but it wasn't without a lot of frustration. Our construction manger left the company after the slab was poured. We were assured the new construction manager would be just as receptive. I believe he was spread way too thin and possibly placed his trust into someone else. We did a number of changes from the standard build plans and the construction crew didn't follow the build plans at all. As someone who isn't in the business at all or is handy blue prints it was easy for me to see the glaring omissions and items that were not built to spec. Since a number of items had to be changed completely and re-done this caused a delay and moved out the closing date by about 3 weeks. We brought up these issues throughout the process and we were pretty much dismissed with "oh, you've never built a house before. This is pretty common". While it might be common in the housing the industry to ignore the blue prints and then have to add things that were missed (like a fireplace, for one) it's extremely stressful on the buyer side. Building & purchasing a house is extremely stressful and certain things are out of your control, like mother nature, but the overall experience wasn't pleasant. We love our home, but based on the overall process I don't think we'd go with Highland again. I'm sure on a spec home they are great, but the ball was dropped on numerous customization items. If we decide to build another home down the line we'll probably go with a builder that is more familiar with custom homes. ... More

Highland Homes responded:
Hi Brad,

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review about the lines of communication and frustration you felt during this process. Your feedback is extremely helpful for us to better understand where there are opportunities for improvement. We strive to provide great customer service and I am very sorry that this was your experience while building your home. I have spoken with our team about these issues and we will continue to work on being better. If you have any questions or concerns, please continue to reach out to our team and thank you for being a Highland Homeowner! highlandhomes
... More

star-rating Highland Homes - I would just make sure to details.

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Armando B.
  • Manvel, TX
  • March 02, 2021

I would just make sure to details. After a month being in our home we noticed more faults. For example we have several cracked tile pieces, cocking missing, sheetrock mistakes. I was not completely happy with my buy if I would do it again I would pay way more attention to details. ... More

star-rating Highland Homes - I think the quality of materials and workmanship could be improved,

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Krystie M.
  • Forney, TX
  • March 02, 2021

I think the quality of materials and workmanship could be improved, especially for the price point. Also there were some pretty obvious issues that were not addressed until I said something, which makes me feel like they were hoping I wouldn’t notice so they wouldn’t have to redo it. There should be a standard of excellence from the builder that contractors understand and comply with or face some kind of consequence. I felt there were too many issues that needed addressing during the walk through and afterward. Because of the price of the home, I do wish higher quality materials would’ve been used such as paint, baseboards, flooring, and faucets. Overall I love my home but I definitely think there are things highland can improve. ... More