What Homeowners Have to Say About KB Home

KB Home has reputation for building quality new construction homes. Their satisfied homeowners give them an average rating of 4.6 stars for their beautiful floor plans and affordable upgrades, their skilled craftsmanship, and commitment to customer service on each house they build. You can read all of KB Home’s 2786 homeowner reviews to learn why they are the right team to build your new home.

4.6 out of 5 stars
in all areas

star-rating

2786 Reviews - 304 Communities

5 ★(2075)

4 ★(382)

3 ★(173)

2 ★(97)

1 ★(59)

Quality 4.5

Trustworthiness 4.6

Value 4.6

Responsiveness 4.6

star-rating KB Home - I have a number of things that are wrong with the house and KBHome

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Marisa J.
  • Gold Canyon, AZ
  • August 25, 2020

I have a number of things that are wrong with the house and KBHome has yet to schedule anyone to fix items even though they have come by my house several times.

KB Home responded:
Hello Marisa, we are sorry for any frustration and would like to help. If you have not already contacted Customer Care regarding the issues you mention, please let us know. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. – James ... More

star-rating Not what we were promised.

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Jason S.
  • San Antonio, TX
  • July 07, 2020

Our house seemed rushed and not complete. We paid lots for an incomplete house. Cole was helping us get everything taken care of, then they let him go leaving us with people that did not take customer service as seriously as he did. Now that Cole is back, which we are sooooo relieved by, hopefully things will get corrected for us. Our original salesman Scott has been awesome as well. Cole and Scott were the only ones that cared about us. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hi Jason, I’m very sorry that you’re disappointed with your experience. We would love to have somebody contact you regarding any concerns. Please email us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure a representative reaches out to you as soon as possible. -James ... More

star-rating Horrible experience

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Darren G.
  • Leander, TX
  • April 21, 2020

no one listens anyways why write the story again

KB Home responded:
Hi Darren, we are sorry for any frustration and would love to have somebody contact you. Please e-mail us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure a representative reaches out to you as quickly as possible. --James ... More

star-rating Regret

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Jasmine V.
  • San Antonio, TX
  • March 24, 2020

I bought a brand new home, with that I expected it to perfect inside. There have been so many issues in my house and still are. They have attempted to fix some things, but they still don’t look acceptable. Contractors that are doing my work don’t seem be professional and you can tell in their work. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hi Jasmine, I’m very sorry that you’re disappointed with your experience. We would love to have somebody contact you regarding any concerns. Please email us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure a representative reaches out to you as soon as possible. -Nick ... More

star-rating Very disappointed!

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Castle Rock, CO
  • January 21, 2020

KB promises 100% completion before move-in, but they did not deliver on their promise. Our home was far from being completed with numerous flaws and construction problems. We are still dealing with issues that have not be fixed or even addressed. Our neighbors have similar or worse issues. I have purchased other new home in the past and have never had such a bad experience. If I had to do it over again, I would not buy a KB home. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hi, we're very sorry that you are disappointed with your experience. Please feel free to reach out to us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com to discuss any concerns and we will ensure you are contacted. -James ... More

star-rating Constantly aggravated

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Lawrence S.
  • Surprise, AZ
  • November 30, 2019

Check your build daily the contractors hired are unskilled labor

KB Home responded:
Hi Lawrence, I'm very sorry that you're disappointed with your experience. Please email us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com with your information and we will ensure a representative reaches out to you as soon as possible. Best wishes -Brian ... More

star-rating Horrible experience

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Victor V.
  • Aurora, CO
  • September 03, 2019

I would never recommend a KB home to anyone based on my experience.

KB Home responded:
Hi Victor, we're very sorry for any frustration. We can put you in touch with a manager of KB Home to discuss any concerns if you'd like. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. -Brian ... More

star-rating Current evaluation based on rotted wood fence.

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Scott P.
  • Georgetown, TX
  • January 29, 2019

Two sides of the backyard fence are made of the cheapest driftwood. Even a small dog can push its way through and 2 dogs have come into my yard through that flimsy fence. And when it rains, the wood is soft and can crumble off by itself. Why would a builder use that type of "wood" for a new home? I've been without the screen to my master bathroom window for almost 2 months now. KB Homes should follow through with replacing the 2 sides of rotten wood/fence and providing the screen for the master bathroom window. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hi Scott, We're sorry for any frustration with your fence and screen. If you would like to speak with a representative, we can put you in touch with a manager to look into your concerns. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. – Brian ... More

star-rating Do not choose KB

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Maria V.
  • Houston, TX
  • July 21, 2020

I was not satisfied with KB Homes. They made my first home experience a very difficult one.

KB Home responded:
Hi Maria, I’m very sorry that you’re disappointed with your experience. We would love to have somebody contact you regarding any concerns. Please email us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure a representative reaches out to you as soon as possible. -Nick ... More

star-rating KB Home - I would not recommend KB homes to anyone.

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Buckeye, AZ
  • July 14, 2020

I would not recommend KB homes to anyone.

KB Home responded:
Hi, I'm very sorry for any frustration. I can ask one of our division managers to contact you to discuss your experience. If you would be willing to email your name and contact information to CustomerRelations@kbhome.com, I’ll make sure someone reaches out to you as soon as possible to look into any concerns. -Brian ... More

star-rating Disappointed

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Robert L.
  • Riverside, CA
  • March 24, 2020

The experience started off a little troubling dealing with the sales office. Once we showed serious interest in a new home purchase, every thing everything was suddenly rushed. Hurry and give a deposit, hurry and sign mountains of paperwork. Always giving me deadlines. At one point I, asked for an extra day to have my attorney review the contract for the lot/future home. The next day I received an email from the sales office telling me our contract was void, that our lot was now back on the market and if I wanted to restart the process, the cost of the lot will go up $2000! Another thing that seemed rushed was picking options on everything. I don't feel you can make all of your decisions in one sitting and be confident in those choices. There should allow more than one session at the design studio so you can be sure you are happy with your choices. During the building process we would stop by and check on the progress. The framing seemed fine. I do not know all the codes the have to follow so I assume the framing is good. But seeing the drywall going in, I started noticing obvious concerns. There were places that broken sheets of drywall were installed and cut outs around outlets and switches were huge, to the point that they had to fill with mud because outlet and switch covers would not be big enough(many were like that after texture and paint). Maybe this is standard practice in the construction industry? I don't know. Then the part that truly matters, the finished product that everyone sees, was disappointing. The paint job was sloppy, workmanship is poor. Outlet covers and switch covers had paint on them or some places they didn't paint close enough so there is a noticeable gap with no paint. I found places when the window sills were painted, they also painted parts of the window frame and just left it like that. Couldn't they remove the covers and use tape to prevent this? Maybe they don't as a common practice in that industry? Again, I don't know. There are places where the baseboard is pieced together instead of just using one piece. I'm not talking about 6, 8, 10 feet or whatever length a full piece is. I'm talking about joints a couple feet apart. That would be fine but at least make a real attempt to hide the joint. Some of the cabinet were all scratched, doors scratched or with small holes all over. I could go on, but you get the idea. Obviously a very rushed job all the way around. This is in a home that costs about $500,000. At what price point do you get quality work??? I thought for that price, I shouldn't be seeing the poor work that I am. I do have to say that KB has gone back over and tried to fix some of the issues I raised. But when the overall workmanship started out poor, it is difficult to make it all good. Maybe I expected too much going into this process, but still very disappointed. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hi, Robert, we are very sorry for any frustration. If you have not already contacted Customer Care regarding the issues you mention, please let us know if we can assist. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. – Nick ... More

star-rating Disappointed

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Milpitas, CA
  • March 17, 2020

I have lived in a KB home all my life. My parents have owned two KB Homes and when given the opportunity to purchase my very own KB Home came about, I was excited. Unfortunately, the experiences I have had were not the same as my parents. I expected more from a long time and reputable builder such as KB Home. For the amount of money I have paid, you would think the workmanship would be at the ultimate highest level. What was even more disappointing is the "talking out of both sides of the mouth" that occurred. I was told things probably just to appease me and then there was no follow through; totally "ghosted". What made matters even worse, one customer service person tried to coerce me into giving a dishonest review, when I only spoke the truth from my experience, and because of that review, I was told they would not be doing something they said they would do, which I ended up having to come out of pocket for. Furthermore, I have taken to managing the "fixes" needed in my "new" house and currently working with a great person from another department to get things taken care of. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello, I’m very sorry that you are disappointed with your experience. We would love to have somebody contact you regarding any concerns. Please email us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure a representative reaches out to you as soon as possible. -Nick ... More

star-rating Horrible experience

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Angelo A.
  • Stockton, CA
  • January 15, 2020

I felt like I was lied to over and over by the district manager the regional manager sales and so on I had a horrible experience

KB Home responded:
Hi Angelo, we'd love to have somebody contact you regarding your experience. Please feel free to email us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure a manager reaches out to you as quickly as possible. -James ... More

star-rating More negatives than positives. Incomplete. Amateur jobs.

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Linda H.
  • Ormond Beach, FL
  • January 14, 2020

It wasn’t anywhere close to the experience we had hoped to get from purchasing our first home as a family. And unfortunately, we can never get that back. You live and you learn.

KB Home responded:
Hi Linda, we're very sorry for any frustration. We can put you in touch with a manager of KB Home to discuss any concerns if you'd like. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. -James ... More

star-rating Unhappy Customer

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Vanessa B.
  • Fresno, CA
  • December 10, 2019

I am unhappy with my KB Home. The home was quickly built and it shows. My walls are not straight and the interior paint is horrible. I will not buy another KB Home in the future and can’t wait to sell this one soon.

KB Home responded:
Hey Vanessa, it sounds like you're frustrated. We'd really like to help, please feel free to reach out to us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we can put you in touch with a division manager to assist with these matters. --James ... More

star-rating Very disappointed

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • Thornton, CO
  • September 14, 2019

Poor design, sloppy workmanship and insufficient equipment. Entire experience has been a case of ‘over promise and under deliver.’

KB Home responded:
Hello, we are sorry for any frustration and would like to help. If you have not already contacted Customer Care regarding the issues you mention, please let us know. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. – Brian ... More

star-rating KB Home - Buy at your own risk

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Michael H.
  • Houston, TX
  • July 23, 2019

Buy at your own risk

KB Home responded:
Hello Michael, we are sorry for your frustration and would like to help. If you have not already contacted Customer Care, please let us know if we can assist. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. – Brian ... More

star-rating KB Home - Not what I inspected I could of bought a modular home for cheaper

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Louis L.
  • Fuquay Varina, NC
  • May 29, 2019

Not what I inspected I could of bought a modular home for cheaper and better quality

KB Home responded:
Hi Louis, We're sorry for any frustration with your home. If you would like to speak with a representative, we can put you in touch with a manager to look into your concerns. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. – Brian ... More

star-rating Disappointed

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Andres M.
  • Georgetown, TX
  • May 22, 2019

You guys need to do a better job on everything

KB Home responded:
Hello Andres, we are sorry for your frustration. If you have not already contacted Customer Care, please let us know if we can assist. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. – Brian ... More

star-rating KB Home - After closing every turned out horrible with kB home representatives

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Kissimmee, FL
  • January 30, 2019

After closing every turned out horrible with kB home representatives

KB Home responded:
Hi Guiovanny, we're very sorry for any frustration. We can put you in touch with a manager of KB Home to discuss any concerns if you'd like. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. -Brian ... More

star-rating 6 windows leaking badly brand new Townhome

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Dale M.
  • Downey, CA
  • January 16, 2019

Very sad and upset that we failed to read all the poor reviews about KB home, the problem seems to be that they used super cheap material and cheap vendors and kick passing the buck to someone else. We have 6 windows that are failing out of 14 windows, that's almost 50% that's 43% of our windows are leaking and leaking badly at that. One room already had drywall cut out and replaced due to the leaky windows. Before you buy KB let me tell you about Green World Windows, You really need to search Green World Windows, you will be shocked about how bad their quality is. Then to make matters worst, their customer service isn't very reliable. Imagine 6 windows leaking indoor home and it gets the wood window sill wet and drips down on the drywall and flooring. been in this brand new construction townhome now for 1 month and had Green World Windows out here 3 times so far to fix windows and still 6 of them are leaking. Anyone have any advice on what we should do? ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello, Dale, we are sorry for your frustration and would like to help. Please e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com, and we will put you in touch with a KB Home division manager to assist with this matter. --Lynn ... More

star-rating Rush Job

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Las Vegas, NV
  • May 16, 2020

KB Home did a poor job in building my house. It took them almost 6 months to build the house but it looked like a rush job. They installed the kitchen and bathroom cabinets without care. As evident of cracked cabinet doors with deep scratches and dents. The wired shelves were not inspected prior to installation, as some of them already have chipped paint and looks dirty. Paint splatter on tile floor and carpet. They didn’t made an effort to clean up after painting. The doors appeared were not wipe down before painting, dust and dirt were painted over. There were also deep scratches and dents on doors. Chunks of dried cement on garage floor, driveway and patio pavers. They didn’t even wash down the spot where they mix the cement. Splatter of stucco stains on pavers, brick fence and entry way. I believe if you build a house you expect perfection. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hi, This sounds frustrating for you and I’d like to help. I can ask one of our division managers to contact you to discuss your experience. If you would be willing to email your name and contact information to CustomerRelations@kbhome.com, I’ll make sure someone reaches out to you as soon as possible to look into the concerns you have mentioned. -James ... More

star-rating KB Home - No anybody respond, very careless,and not good materials.

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Narayan K.
  • Austin, TX
  • April 21, 2020

No anybody respond, very careless,and not good materials. My house wood carpet moving.

KB Home responded:
Hi, Narayan, we're very sorry for any frustration. If you would like to speak with a manager of KB Home to discuss any concerns, please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance and we will ensure you are contacted. Best wishes. -James ... More

star-rating KB Home - I don’t like nothing how build the house to much mess and damage

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Mevluda O.
  • Jacksonville, FL
  • April 15, 2020

I don’t like nothing how build the house to much mess and damage tael it’s really bead very big line between ceramic in shovers all silicon its ready pool off ground it’s broke water can likes behind ceramic my door from garage to inside at house I cannot close its all the time open In kitchen it’s very chip material I make big miss take to by this house sun I found another place i can put the pool I will sale this house and move from here i have house bin in 16 y magnolia build it’s very good shape and materials. I move here because I need bigger place more rooms master room it’s very big and three rooms it’s so small now god plane inside. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hi Mevluda, I’m very sorry that you’re disappointed with your experience. We would love to have somebody contact you regarding any concerns. Please email us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure a representative reaches out to you as soon as possible. -Brian ... More

star-rating Not what you would expect from a major builder

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Los Angeles, CA
  • January 21, 2020

Do not sign anything until it is complete. Do not let KB home manipulate you.

KB Home responded:
Hi, we're very sorry for any frustration. We can put you in touch with a manager of KB Home to discuss any concerns if you'd like. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. -James ... More