What Homeowners Have to Say About KB Home

KB Home has reputation for building quality new construction homes. Their satisfied homeowners give them an average rating of 4.6 stars for their beautiful floor plans and affordable upgrades, their skilled craftsmanship, and commitment to customer service on each house they build. You can read all of KB Home’s 2447 homeowner reviews to learn why they are the right team to build your new home.

4.6 out of 5 stars
in all areas

star-rating

2447 Reviews - 318 Communities

5 ★(1822)

4 ★(332)

3 ★(150)

2 ★(87)

1 ★(56)

Quality 4.5

Trustworthiness 4.6

Value 4.6

Responsiveness 4.6

star-rating Subs

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Troy S.
  • New Braunfels, TX
  • April 09, 2019

Very disappointed in the sub contractors. Especially the tile/flooring company. Also the painters. We moved in 1-1/2 months ago and we are still waiting on issues to be fixed

star-rating Little disappointed on my new house

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Tai H.
  • Seffner, FL
  • March 07, 2019

I guess im one of the unlucky one that the house built close to oak tree. Backyard now fill with leaves and eventually my roof will be, too.

star-rating KB Villas at The Meadows

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Jon H.
  • Castle Rock, CO
  • February 07, 2019

We had been in the new house 3 weeks and had two separate leaks in the Master shower. The gutters are not even joined at the corners. The quality of the drywall finishing is fair at best.

star-rating Disappointed

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Stephen F.
  • Vail, AZ
  • January 24, 2019

We are still waiting for our shower floor to be fixed, our final termite inspection and I have a paint issue we would like to discuss.

star-rating great, supportive sales team.....very average quality

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Graham C.
  • Aurora, CO
  • January 24, 2019

Basement flooded before closing, touch up paint throughout the house with wrong color, pipes froze in the first month

star-rating KB Home Monte Bella Housing Project

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Anonymous
  • Salinas, CA
  • June 09, 2020

Buildup materials are very good. Our property model was designed to cancel outside noise. Very quiet inside the house. Quality of workmanship should be double and triple checked for the general contractor and subcontractors. Upon occupancy of the property, we came across items that were damaged and loose fixtures. Painters failed to remove edging tapes, clean their areas, and windows were dirty. KB has a checklist during a walk-through. The company definitely can improve reliability of the subcontractors to keep them at a higher standard. A quality control or a checklist should be performed for each sub’s workmanship. Given the current Pandemic, KB made every effort to resolve issues in a timely manner. ... More

star-rating Nice 1st home

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Joseph S.
  • Surprise, AZ
  • June 06, 2020

Good color schemes

star-rating Bad Experience

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Round Rock, TX
  • May 12, 2020

From sales to design studio, construction everything is not up to the mark for the money which you are paying. Think twice before going with KB, be careful at every step with sales & construction people.

KB Home responded:
Hello, I’m very sorry that you’re disappointed with your experience. We would love to have somebody contact you regarding any concerns. Please email us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure a representative reaches out to you as soon as possible. -James ... More

star-rating Non responsive to customers

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • Magnolia, TX
  • May 07, 2020

Brand new home with issues and even though they tell you there is a warranty, no one calls to follow up or give an idea when issues will be taken care of. So not sure whether issues will be fixed.

KB Home responded:
Hello, we are sorry for any frustration and would like to help. If you have not already contacted Customer Care regarding the issues you mention, please let us know. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. –Nick ... More

star-rating House is nice

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Wilmer B.
  • Phoenix, AZ
  • April 15, 2020

I'm sorry but with the experience i went through, I would not recommend.

KB Home responded:
Hi Wilmer, I’m sorry that you’re disappointed with your experience. We would love to have somebody contact you regarding any concerns. Please email us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure a representative reaches out to you as soon as possible. -Nick ... More

star-rating Less than Thrilled

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Neal S.
  • Fuquay Varina, NC
  • March 24, 2020

Please check the workmanship. Bottom door gaps to large, latch plate not precise (3 doors), painting appears down right amateurish - wall repairs you actually see the paint roller marks, cutting on corners not precise. I really expected more from a reputable builder like KB. ... More

star-rating I never got contacted for either 10 day paint touch up or 30 day home follow up. I have many issues that have not been dealt with and they know about.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Las Vegas, NV
  • March 15, 2020

Have outside paint issues, master bath caulking issues and master shower drain issues. I have advised project manager about flooring issues and was suppose to get back. Nothing. Advised about sliding glass door frame caulking issue. I had an electrical issue where multiple wires were bare in box and it was repaired with just applying electrical tape. Not acceptable. Entry door is damaged and got painted over and other doors in house have same issues. I was suppose to get a complimentary water filtration system at kitchen sink. Company came out over a month ago and said they would contact me and nothing yet. So I'm not happy at all. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello, I’m very sorry that you are disappointed with your experience. We would love to have somebody contact you regarding any concerns. Please email us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure a representative reaches out to you as soon as possible. -James ... More

star-rating KB Home - Quick to build, quick to move on.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • Jacksonville, FL
  • March 10, 2020

Quick to build, quick to move on.

star-rating Details and Privacy don't matter to KB

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Anonymous
  • San Antonio, TX
  • March 02, 2020

Their painters all need to go. None of them apparently will use painter's tape, and no straight lines are painted. Horrible paint job that we have to settle for. We have lived in the house close to 2 months. Now they say there needs to be an appraisal where they come in a take pictures of the inside of my home. I am completely uncomfortable with this. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello, we are sorry for any frustration. If you would like assistance with this matter, please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com. Best wishes. --James ... More

star-rating Expected Better!

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • Hutto, TX
  • February 26, 2020

I would pick another builder if I had to redo the process.

star-rating KB Home - Supervisions on jobs and better workmanship,

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Moses B.
  • Austin, TX
  • February 11, 2020

Supervisions on jobs and better workmanship,

star-rating Not all that

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Miguel C.
  • Del Valle, TX
  • January 17, 2020

I have been in my home 3 months and still waiting on things to be fixed. For a how That will cost me half a million dollars once paid not worth it.

star-rating My overall home experience

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Victor R.
  • Pearland, TX
  • January 07, 2020

We are very disappointed with our house we are still having people fixing discrepancies that should have been done before moving in. I am starting to see that my KB home was done very poorly and it is frustrating having to pay this much money and not have this house done correctly. I feel like ... More

star-rating KB Home - The mortgage piece was terrible.

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Tammy G.
  • Tucson, AZ
  • December 03, 2019

The mortgage piece was terrible. After move in , had several repairs, takes a lot of my work time. Used my electricity to build the neighbors house. The stucco walls are not flat.

star-rating Upgrades

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Leland B.
  • Santa Clarita, CA
  • August 15, 2019

Choose your upgrades carefully, they can really raise the price of your new home! Make sure to get the wiring for fans, better value at the time of building than later! The granite in the kitchen is of a lower grade, and stains very easily, also was not sealed at the time of move in! Still stains even after being sealed! This might be a good upgrade at the time of purchase! Faucets in kitchen and bathrooms are lower grade, but those can be upgraded at a later date! ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello Leland, thank you for your feedback. If you would like to speak with a representative regarding your home, please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. – Brian ... More

star-rating Unfinished issues

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Michael D.
  • Cave Creek, AZ
  • May 29, 2019

Still waiting for 10 day issues and thirty day issues to be taken care of

KB Home responded:
Hello Michael, we are sorry for your frustration and would like to help. If you have not already contacted Customer Care regarding the issues you mention, please let us know. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. – Brian ... More

star-rating KB Home - Still waiting for things to be fixed- over a month in the home-

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Devin D.
  • Conroe, TX
  • April 02, 2019

Still waiting for things to be fixed- over a month in the home- that were promised to be fixed before we moved in.

star-rating Good at First but then

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Ashley H.
  • Universal City, TX
  • March 26, 2019

The sales office was great, the design studio was great, the construction manager was great at first but then. I don't even want to get into how terrible my process was and the lack of attention to detail and lack respect as a customer paying nearly 300K for a house and someone blowing off my concerns and acting so nonchalant about things towards the end. If it wasn't for all I put into the house I would have walked away form it all! 3 days after I closed the construction workers ran over my lawn and it took more than a week for me to hear back from the construction manager when I reached out to him about it. That was more than a month ago and I have yet to hear back on when its being fixed. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello Ashley, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for any frustration with your home and would be happy to connect you with a representative to look into any concerns. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. --Brian ... More

star-rating New home

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • North Las Vegas, NV
  • March 26, 2019

Sales team was great but I had many issues with my home.

KB Home responded:
Hello, thank you for your feedback. If you would like to speak with a representative regarding your home, please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com. We will ensure you are contacted. – Brian ... More

star-rating KB Home - Poor experience

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Bryan L.
  • Tucson, AZ
  • January 24, 2019

Poor experience

KB Home responded:
Hello Bryan, thank you for your feedback. We would be happy to connect you with a representative to look into any concerns. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. Best wishes. --Brian ... More

Narrow Reviews by Area: