What Homeowners Have to Say About KB Home

KB Home has reputation for building quality new construction homes. Their satisfied homeowners give them an average rating of 4.6 stars for their beautiful floor plans and affordable upgrades, their skilled craftsmanship, and commitment to customer service on each house they build. You can read all of KB Home’s 2447 homeowner reviews to learn why they are the right team to build your new home.

4.6 out of 5 stars
in all areas

star-rating

2447 Reviews - 318 Communities

5 ★(1822)

4 ★(332)

3 ★(150)

2 ★(87)

1 ★(56)

Quality 4.5

Trustworthiness 4.6

Value 4.6

Responsiveness 4.6

star-rating Paint

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Demitra D.
  • Stockton, CA
  • July 19, 2019

The interior paint job is extremely sloppy! There are already several cracks in the walls and chipped paint that was not caused from move

KB Home responded:
Hello Demitra, we are sorry for your frustration with the paint. If you would like to speak with a representative, we can put you in touch with a manager to look into your concerns. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. – Brian ... More

star-rating Build Elsewhere

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Anonymous
  • Mesa, AZ
  • April 16, 2019

KB uses the cheapest sub contractors possible and it clearly shows in their workmanship. KB employees will try their best to make best of a situation but the work actually being completed during construction is horrendous.

KB Home responded:
Hello, we appreciate your feedback on your experience, and we will be sure to share your comments with KB Home division management. If you would like to speak with a representative regarding your home, please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. – Brian ... More

star-rating Nice home with many, many repairs to be done.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Port Saint Lucie, FL
  • March 12, 2019

It's a nice community with the understanding that the building of a new home would be a pleasant one. However, after the home was completed, it was left with numerous repairs and careless errors. There were some individuals who took care of the situation mindfully and thank goodness. But it's mind boggling that there were so many repairs to be done 2-3 months after the house was closed on. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for your frustration and would like to help. If you have not already contacted Customer Care regarding the issues you mention, please let us know if we can assist. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. –Brian ... More

star-rating KB Home - We bought house more than month ago & master bathroom sink is

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Pratima P.
  • Pflugerville, TX
  • January 24, 2019

We bought house more than month ago & master bathroom sink is leaking already & have water puddles underneath. Due to that issue, the cabinet got damaged too. I think KB home use very cheap materials to build home. How can we trust KB home, since we already have major leak issue after one month. Very disappointed & price we paid is way more because the materials used are very cheap. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hi Pratima, we are very sorry for your frustration with your bathroom and would like to help. If you have not already contacted Customer Care regarding the issues you mention, please let us know. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. – Brian ... More

star-rating Love the place, Not so much the Customer Service or responsiveness.

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Gardena, CA
  • January 21, 2019

It is like jumping through hurdles to get someone to tell you what, when and how to repair something. There is so much red tape. You go through many people trying to find out if your issue is even in the pipeline. If your issue is a small fix, the repair is sloppy, causing other damage. Make sure every little thing is fixed and checked prior to closing to avoid these unnecessary headaches. I am still waiting for the new working keys to the front gate. It is a shame, as I like the property. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hi Nicola, we're very sorry for any frustration with the repairs. We can put you in touch with a manager of KB Home to discuss any concerns if you'd like. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance and we will ensure you are contacted. -Brian ... More

star-rating KB is Horrible and I am very dissatisfied with the completion of my new built

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 5

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Courtney J.
  • Hutto, TX
  • February 11, 2020

Horrible communication and customer loyalty! KB does not care about anything but the sale.

KB Home responded:
Hi Courtney, we're very sorry for any frustration. We can put you in touch with a manager of KB Home to discuss any concerns if you'd like. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. -James ... More

star-rating There was a lack of fine detail cosmetics that need more touch up

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Jarriett B.
  • Seffner, FL
  • January 14, 2020

Ceiling waves, outlet edges are rough not smooth borders crack nail pops

KB Home responded:
Hi Jarriett, we are sorry to hear about these frustrations with your home. We can help put you in touch with a manager regarding these issues. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. --James ... More

star-rating 1st time best experience 2nd time was a disappointment

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • San Antonio, TX
  • January 11, 2020

1st house was an amazing experience that when we moved we decided to go with KB again. Bigger and more expensive. I wished we looked somewhere else because theres cracks everywhere. Water comes thru our door. Paint still on our carpet and floor. It has been a bad experience since day 1. From loan process to moving into home. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello, I'm sorry that you were disappointed with your second KB Home experience. We'd really like to help, please email us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. -Brian ... More

star-rating My what should have been new home

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Ricky M.
  • Goodyear, AZ
  • January 07, 2020

Walls are not straight water got under my home my bathroom is jacked up cracks in my ceiling something about the drywall you can here people using the bathroom you just have no privacy in the home the room on north side is just nuts when someone uses the microwave or bathroom I have real questions with the quality of the material I can get a nail and push it into the drywall no hammer needed my windows have damage and nobody seems to give a ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello Ricky, we're very sorry for any frustration. We can put you in touch with a manager of KB Home to discuss any concerns if you'd like. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. -James ... More

star-rating Responsiveness of issues after moving in.

Quality star-rating 5

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Angel P.
  • Saint Cloud, FL
  • November 20, 2019

Before signing on the closing day there were several issues that were done at last minute like the grading on the left hand side in between houses. By now KB home had worked on this matter several times and stilll not resolve. Also, the were a crack on the ceiling by the dining room area that three different people have tried to fix. The biggest issue is the Grading in between the house. I keep being told that has to do with the city. I know it doesn’t has to do anything with the city. The last crew that was here broke the cable for spectrum and taped it together and didn’t say anything about it. I really like to have the grading done right. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hi Angel, we're very sorry for any frustration. We can put you in touch with a manager of KB Home to discuss any concerns if you'd like. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance and we will ensure you are contacted. -James ... More

star-rating All talk and nothing done

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 5

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Robert G.
  • Glendale, AZ
  • November 12, 2019

We did our first walk through and we found some things ( scratch tub, wire sticking out of stucco, roof tile missing nails, dead plants and some texture and painting issues). Also the superintendent showed up 30 min late. He said that he would add trim in the garage for being late. A week later was our closing date and it rain 2 days during that week. We had another walk through and the only thin was fixed was the paint and texture issues. He said the they can fix the issues while we are living their. I did not want to slow anything down so I said okay. It took them 2 weeks after I said something again to fix the issues the only thing they did was fixed the tub. Now almost 2 months later the super called me and ask how everything is doing. I told he that our plants still need to be replaced, fix the roof, stucco, 2 doors need fixed ( 1 does not latch and the other does not closed), we saw a hole in the bottom of the cabinet in the bathroom, and I put a new faucet in the kitchen and it looks like it had some water damage on the bottom shelf of the cabinet. He told me he would schedule me for the nexted friday and nobody called me and nobody showed. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hi Robert, we're very sorry for any frustration with your home. If you would like to speak with a representative, we can put you in touch with a manager to look into your concerns. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance and we will ensure you are contacted. –Brian ... More

star-rating Room for improvement needed

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Daniel S.
  • Universal City, TX
  • June 24, 2019

Our sales Rep Warren was amazing. He kept us in the loop the whole process. He gets a 5 star. The lending/processor/underwriter were terrible. Lacked communication, follow up, made promises and commitments that were never kept. Do not use KBHS.

KB Home responded:
Hello Daniel, thank you for your feedback. We would be happy to connect you with a representative to look into any concerns. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. --Brian ... More

star-rating Exhausting

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Rachel S.
  • Maricopa, AZ
  • June 18, 2019

The process was exhausting. Although everyone had excellent personalities and reached out, there was a comedy (and by comedy I mean incredibly Frustrating & unprofessional) of errors that gave us anxiety, stress & ended up costing us money due to delay. Although the home is beautiful now that it's complete, I would find it difficult to provide a recommendation in the future. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello Rachel, thank you for your feedback. If you would like to speak with a representative regarding your home, please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com. We will ensure you are contacted. – Brian ... More

star-rating New house

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Tushar P.
  • Leander, TX
  • April 11, 2019

Many small issues and couple of big things we found and let the kB know but no one comes to fix it

KB Home responded:
Hi Tushar, we are sorry for any frustration and would like to help. If you have not already contacted Customer Care regarding the issues you mention, please let us know. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. – Brian ... More

star-rating Poor quality and slow to fix

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Goodyear, AZ
  • March 19, 2019

KB is quick to force you into the new home before it's ready, then takes forever to resolve issues under warranty. We wait weeks for resolution, as things get pushed back or no one shows up for scheduled repair visits. Extremely dissatisfied with KB currently. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello, we are sorry for your frustration and would like to help. If you have not already contacted Customer Care regarding the issues you mention, please let us know if we can assist. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. – Brian ... More

star-rating Avoid upgrade and do it you own

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • San Jose, CA
  • January 17, 2019

Material used is cheap, upgrade is limited and expensive. Not very good build quality either.

KB Home responded:
Hi, Lei, thank you for your feedback. If you would like to be contacted by a representative of KB Home to discuss any concerns, please let us know. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. -- Lynn ... More

star-rating Terrible workmanship and followup

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Joseph A.
  • Ormond Beach, FL
  • May 12, 2020

Many problems with floors, paint, tile, cabinet and more have made what could have been a great buying experience. The home has energy saving devices and insulation that can save a lot over the years but the nagging problems that remain makes me warn people I talk with to look somewhere else. Punch list items will not be taken care of. So if you don't mind getting irritated every day when you look around at all the problems that have been ignored by KB Homes, you might like their townhomes in Ormond Beach. Couple things to think about if you look at their townhomes, the units on the outside of the street have two parking spaces in their driveway whereas the units on the inside only have one because the sidewalk is in front of the units on the inside of the street. Also, units on the outside can park in the street and partially on their lot for a third space where the units in the inside cannot again because of the sidewalk. One of those things you don't even think about until you move in and notice your neighbor across the street has 3 cars parked there and you can only park one. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello Joseph, we are sorry for any frustration. If you have not already contacted Customer Care regarding the issues you mention, please let us know. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. –Nick ... More

star-rating Not as good as we hoped

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Kaid C.
  • Brighton, CO
  • April 14, 2020

Cody said he would replace our driveway and power wash our garage that’s covered in paint. I’ll be happy to change this after that is done but it’s now been just about 2 months and we are getting the run around we feel like with no direct answer. Our furnace acts ups time to time. The paint inside the house is super cheap and if you accidentally rub your shoulder in the wall it scratches. We love the house as a whole just want the driveway replaced and garage power washed and I’ll be happy. Oh we also had construction workers steal water from our hose which isn’t normal. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hi, Kaid, we're very sorry for any frustration. Customer service has reached out to address your concerns. If you have any questions, please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. Best wishes. -Brian ... More

star-rating New Home

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Universal City, TX
  • April 06, 2020

Well...still waiting on major repairs for poor craftsmanship.

KB Home responded:
Hi, we're very sorry for any frustration. We can put you in touch with a manager of KB Home to discuss any concerns if you'd like. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. Best wishes. -James ... More

star-rating Not the best house for the money

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Larry P.
  • Magnolia, TX
  • April 01, 2020

For the money paid for house, I think the quality and workmanship is a bit lacking. Also, we picked a larger lot to install a pool in the future. But due to the extreme excavation to the back yard (which we discovered was necessary after the house build was well underway) to facilitate drainage. We may not be able to install a pool or even afford to install a pool. Not too happy with KB Homes right now. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hi, Larry, we're sorry for any frustration. If you would like to speak with a manager of KB Home to discuss any concerns, please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance and we will ensure you are contacted. --Brian ... More

star-rating Quantity over Quality

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Jesse H.
  • Uhland, TX
  • January 22, 2020

The tradesmen are majority unqualified. Framers are terrible, painters lazy, masons were good, roofers try to get too much done to quickly and the shingles are loose because nails are missing to anchor them down. Siding is not smooth. The bath in the master constantly creeks and squeaks. The front door light kicks the breaker every time we turn it on which kills the light and fan in the powder room. Drywall is not level in window frames from top to bottom some also from side to side. The fence blew over in a storm. The flood light already stopped working on the back of the house. The light switches have no attempt of coordination in sequence of what light turns on in the home, you just keep flipping them on and off till you get the desired light to illuminate. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hi Jesse, We're sorry for any frustration with your home and fence. If you would like to speak with a representative, we can put you in touch with a manager to look into your concerns. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance and we will ensure you are contacted. – Brian ... More

star-rating Extremely disappointed

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Diana C.
  • Helotes, TX
  • January 21, 2020

For the cost of our new home we are extremely disappointed in the overall process. Very poor quality workmanship. Still having issues 30+ days after move in.

KB Home responded:
I’m very sorry that you are disappointed with your experience Diana. Please feel free to contact us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we can put you in touch with a manager of KB Home to discuss any concerns. -Brian ... More

star-rating Low quality and service after purchase.

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Ontario, CA
  • January 18, 2020

Quality of work is very poor.

KB Home responded:
Hello, we're very sorry for any frustration. We can put you in touch with a manager of KB Home to discuss any concerns if you'd like. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. -James ... More

star-rating Quality is ok; Service is severely lacking

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Kayla C.
  • Jacksonville, FL
  • December 10, 2019

The value for the price we paid for our new home is okay, despite the continued issues before after move in. However, the communication and service from the construction team and lender were very disappointing. I would highly recommend that future homebuyers stay far far away from KB. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hi Kayla, thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry for any frustration and if you would like to be contacted by a representative of KB Home to discuss any concerns, please let us know. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. – Brian ... More

star-rating If I could turn back the hands of time...

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Alicia B.
  • Richmond, TX
  • December 05, 2019

Asked to resubmit my first review bc “doesn’t meet website guidelines “ ... laughable smh... Here’s a summary: Nice staff/responsiveness... 4 stars Value for price .... 3 stars Trustworthiness... 1 star.. lost trust from the very beginning to the end. A pure nightmare Quality... 1 star .. never moved into a new home that was presented new ... (sloppy, debts, splatters, wires etc) ... More

KB Home responded:
Hey Alicia, thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry for any frustration with your home and experience. Please e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com, and we will put you in touch with a KB Home division manager to assist with this matter. Best wishes. --Brian ... More

Narrow Reviews by Area: