What Homeowners Have to Say About KB Home

KB Home has reputation for building quality new construction homes. Their satisfied homeowners give them an average rating of 4.6 stars for their beautiful floor plans and affordable upgrades, their skilled craftsmanship, and commitment to customer service on each house they build. You can read all of KB Home’s 2438 homeowner reviews to learn why they are the right team to build your new home.

4.6 out of 5 stars
in all areas

star-rating

2438 Reviews - 318 Communities

5 ★(1815)

4 ★(331)

3 ★(150)

2 ★(87)

1 ★(55)

Quality 4.5

Trustworthiness 4.6

Value 4.6

Responsiveness 4.6

star-rating Not the best

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • Tucson, AZ
  • April 21, 2020

Lots to be said. The quality for what I paid for is less than great.

KB Home responded:
Hello, we are sorry for any frustration and would be happy to connect you with a representative to look into any concerns. Please email CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. --Brian ... More

star-rating Very dissatisfied

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Aaron S.
  • Riverside, CA
  • March 24, 2020

Very dissatisfied... before moving in things were already breaking. Front door handle fell apart, fire extinguisher fell off and broke when someone walked over it upstairs, windowsill paint/drywall mushed when it rained. I HATE that you can hear everything if someone is walking upstairs, talking the walls are to thin, and the fact that everything is an upgrade $600 K for a poorly made cookie cutter home is such a big disappointment. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hi, Aaron, we're very sorry for any frustration. We can put you in touch with a manager of KB Home to discuss any concerns if you'd like. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. Best wishes. -Brian ... More

star-rating The List of Issues is Long.

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • Castle Rock, CO
  • January 14, 2020

Complete disregard and lack of expected quality craftsmanship for a $550K home. Lots of cutting corners to push towards a short-deadline closing. Lots of pressure put on building superintendents and managers to close the books on several homes at the same time. First night in the house the thermostat went bonkers and started the A/C when it was 19 degrees outside. Brand new whirlpool oven didn't work for nearly two weeks. Rather than bring us a new one like we had asked they deferred us to their home warranty department. Well over 20 items still awaiting fixes and or repairs after being in the home for almost two months now. We are very concerned about the long-term probability of greater unseen (aka under-the-skin/below the surface issues and concerns arising from the obvious poor craftsmanship and rush to close. Easy to put some of the blame on us the buyers for accepting after the final inspection, but not something taken lightly when you've been living in a hotel and air BnB for a month while getting promise after promise by the builder that everything's going to be taken care of to 100 percent of your satisfaction, and that your home will as good as or better build quality than their best model home. Yes, that's precisely what we were told on several occasions. Couldn't have been farther from the truth. In hindsight I never should have accepted/signed or gone to closing, but instead played hardball and insisted on them refunding me my $10K earnest money and took my business elsewhere. My only concern with this thought is that I think the lack of quality craftsmanship in the new homes being built in this area is more wide-spread than I can imagine. I wonder who's really passing the various inspections of these homes at the city level? Lastly, our poor neighbors. We consider ourselves fortunate the we are not having to deal with the plethora/myriad of issues they're having to deal with as I speak. These poor folks have been having no-kidding deplorable and unimaginable issues. To the point where they are about to go after them with a class action lawsuit demanding compensation for their time or the full refund/buy back of their homes. It's really unacceptable how KB Home has treated these retired folks who have worked hard their entire lives only to have to deal with this kind of stuff. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello, I am sorry for any frustration and have shared your comments with KB Home division management. If you would like to speak with someone regarding your concerns, I’d be happy to put you in touch with a representative. Please feel free to reach out to CustomerRelations@kbhome.com with your address and contact information. -Brian ... More

star-rating price increase

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Domingo M.
  • San Antonio, TX
  • November 19, 2019

they did not respect the agreed initial price, they made me waste a lot of time

KB Home responded:
Hey Domingo, we're sorry for any frustration and would be happy to connect you with a representative to look into any concerns. Please email CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. --James ... More

star-rating Hit many bumps during the whole process

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • San Jose, CA
  • September 25, 2019

I wasn't impressed with my sales rep. Buying a new house is a lot of money and I expected top customer service quality (took several days to get a response, did not meet deadlines). Lot of the upgrades are overpriced to the point where it's still cheaper to rip out KB installed finishings and install new ones after closing. Lot of the base finishings is very low quality and that's how they keep prices competitive but get you to pay more to upgrade to something more reasonable. After closing, our After Sales Customer Service representative was also very hard to get in touch with and ignores most of my emails asking for an update. KB subcontracts a lot of the final stages of work (carpet, counters, appliances, etc). In my experience, it was all sub-par (counter overhang turned out to be a underhang meaning the closed drawers extended past the counter edge, holes in shower wall slabs, missing door pins, missing dead bolt screws). I'm pretty easy going but my new KB home purchase left a lot to be desired. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello, we're very sorry for any frustration with your experience. We can put you in touch with a manager of KB Home to discuss any concerns if you'd like. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. --Brian ... More

star-rating KB Home - Having lot of post closing issues and those are not addressed

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Dinesh D.
  • Denver, CO
  • September 18, 2019

Having lot of post closing issues and those are not addressed properly. No point of having 1 month check in of everything has to go through the product warranty.

KB Home responded:
Hello Dinesh, we are sorry for any frustration and would like to help. If you have not already contacted Customer Care regarding the issues you mention, please let us know. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. – Brian ... More

star-rating Great Sales/Finance Staff, Poor Quality Builder

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Robert E.
  • Bulverde, TX
  • September 04, 2019

Overall, very disappointed with our new home. Model homes look great, but the actual build on all the houses in our neighborhood are very poor quality. Cheap materials and even cheaper labor -- skill level of the contractors is abysmal. If you're looking for a quality home in the $325K+ range, look elsewhere. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hi Robert, we are very sorry for any frustration with your home and materials. If you would like to speak with a representative, we can put you in touch with a manager to look into your concerns. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. – Brian ... More

star-rating so many issues!

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Angeline D.
  • Corona, CA
  • September 03, 2019

So many issues to mention...

KB Home responded:
Hi Angeline, we are very sorry for any frustration. If you have not already contacted Customer Care regarding the issues you mention, please let us know if we can assist. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. – Brian ... More

star-rating Poor attention to details.

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Esperanza L.
  • Gibsonton, FL
  • July 11, 2019

Several annoying issues such as wrong appliance installation, cracks in the driveway pavement, and hanging electrical wires that impede the closure of kitchen cabinet drawers.

KB Home responded:
Hi Esperanza, we're sorry for any frustration with your home and driveway. If you would like to speak with a representative, we can put you in touch with a manager to look into your concerns. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance and we will ensure you are contacted. – Brian ... More

star-rating Not a happy homeowner

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Jerome D.
  • Moreno Valley, CA
  • July 09, 2019

In short, everything was just done to get the house off the market. Everything was mediocre. Thankful for our sales person Gina and superintendent Kevin for hearing us and doing their best to correct the errors. Tips: DO NOT sign off or accept keys till everything and I mean everything is completely done right. From paint jobs to working light bulbs. From flooring to any dents and holes around the house! ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello, Jerome, thank you for your feedback. We would be happy to connect you with a representative to look into any concerns. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. --Brian ... More

star-rating KB Home - KB homes worked hard to sell the house but once I got into the

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Tyler M.
  • Tucson, AZ
  • June 12, 2019

KB homes worked hard to sell the house but once I got into the house I have ID'd a lot of flaws that were identified during the walk through and were not fixed. During acceptance I was told they would get fixed after signing. When I called customer service to correct it I ran into a dead end so i went to the the office where I was told they dont handle issues like that once the house is excepted. I would not reccomend kb homes to anyone. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello Tyler, we are sorry for your frustration and would like to help. If you have not already contacted Customer Care regarding the issues you mention, please let us know if we can assist. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com, and we will put you in touch with a KB Home division manager to assist with this matter. -Brian ... More

star-rating KB Home - Communicate communicate communicate and do no settle.

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Colleen R.
  • Jacksonville, FL
  • May 01, 2019

Communicate communicate communicate and do no settle.

KB Home responded:
Hello Colleen, thank you for your feedback. If we can help with anything please let us know at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com. Best wishes. --Brian

star-rating Not happy with KB

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Fatih K.
  • Round Rock, TX
  • February 10, 2019

My home was not clean/ready before I moved in.Wrong keys given(I am not kidding..!!) I called for some repair at home, did not get any response for two months.Will not recommend KB to my friends.

KB Home responded:
Hi Faith, we're very sorry for any frustration with the move in process and repairs. We can put you in touch with a manager of KB Home to discuss any concerns if you'd like. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. Best wishes. -Brian ... More

star-rating Disappointed

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Khatija R.
  • Seffner, FL
  • January 30, 2019

Management at KB Homes were very unhelpful and inefficient. Problems still persist with home more than 3 months after closing and the company is slow and inefficient in their resolution.

KB Home responded:
Hi Khatija, we're very sorry for any frustration with your home. If you would like to be contacted by a representative of KB Home to discuss any concerns, please let us know. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. – Brian ... More

star-rating Commitment

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Joy R.
  • Apex, NC
  • January 24, 2019

What’s committed at the time of closing is not yet done . I am still waiting for that . And also no body contacted me for 1 month inspection.

KB Home responded:
Hi Joy, we're very sorry for any frustration. If you need assistance with this matter or have any questions please do not hesitate to email CustomerRelations@kbhome.com, and we will ensure you are contacted. -Brian ... More

star-rating Remember, KB is a tract home builder

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Kent V.
  • Longmont, CO
  • January 18, 2019

Workmanship is as a traditional tract home builder. Maybe even sub par against that benchmark and the associated competition. Limited attention to detail. Lower end components for the money; faucets, appliances, toilets, and carpet. Interior painters are terrible. I don't think they know what blue tape is or what it used for. Other than that, the house seems to be solidly built, so far. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello Kent, thank you for your feedback. We would be happy to connect you with a representative to look into any concerns. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. Enjoy your home. --Brian ... More

star-rating Hurriedly built home with poor QA/QC

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • Punta Gorda, FL
  • January 08, 2019

Trades unsupervised. Home not delivered on time as promised. 2 months trying to get issues resolved that should have been done correctly before closing. Representatives of KB relaying incorrect information.

KB Home responded:
Hello, Shirley Jo, thank you for your comments. If you would like to be contacted by a representative of KB Home management to discuss any concerns, please let us know at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com. We would be happy to put you in touch with a representative to assist. -- Lynn ... More

star-rating Very unorganized company

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Georgetown, TX
  • December 20, 2018

We moved in less than 3 months ago and the walls and ceilings are already starting to separate and show visible holes. There are 4 additional issues that we have been waiting to get addressed as well.

KB Home responded:
Hi, Kyler, if you need assistance with this, we'd be happy to help. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com. Best wishes. -- Lynn

star-rating Many issues that were not addressed before closing,

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Vicki G.
  • Castle Rock, CO
  • May 18, 2020

We had many items on our list from the walkthrough that needed to be addressed. Some minor and some major flaws. 6 weeks later nothing done or committed to being fixed. Spent $$$ on upgrades. Upgraded wood floors have defective boards, whitish color where stain is missing, many scratches and holes. Upgraded cabinets, inconsistent stain. whitish stain on several doors, scratches and doors falling off their hinges. I have personally fixed many items on our "to do list" The customer service people and sales people are all very nice and assure me they will fix issues. But Douglas County came off Stay at Home quarantine May 1st and I cannot get anything scheduled. The tell me no one will come inside to do repairs. They promised they would get all outside issues fixed, but not much done in last 3 weeks. I wish I could rate them higher on being trustworthy but I am afraid some items will never be fixed. We thought we were being diligent working with construction foreman during construction . My feeling is upper management is more concerned with closing homes, getting them off their books and making corporate quarterly projection than delivering a quality home. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hi Vicki, I’m very sorry for any frustration with the repairs. We would love to have somebody contact you regarding any concerns. Please email us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure a representative reaches out to you as soon as possible. -Nick ... More

star-rating Third time buyer - worst experience

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Clermont, FL
  • May 12, 2020

Disappointed with KB home - I get discriminators against and not valued as a third time home buyer.

KB Home responded:
Hello, I’m sorry that you’re disappointed with your experience. We would love to have somebody contact you regarding any concerns. Please email us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure a representative reaches out to you as soon as possible. -Brian ... More

star-rating KB Home - Sloppy

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Dylan S.
  • Gibsonton, FL
  • January 07, 2020

Sloppy

KB Home responded:
Hi Dylan, we're sorry for any frustration. If you would like assistance with your home, please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com. -Brian

star-rating KB Home - bad quality of the painting and kitchen

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Luiz A.
  • Windermere, FL
  • June 25, 2019

bad quality of the painting and kitchen

KB Home responded:
Hello Luiz, we are sorry for your frustration and would like to help. If you have not already contacted Customer Care regarding the issues you mention, please let us know. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. – Brian ... More

star-rating KB Home - Not happy with the home and quality

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Peyman E.
  • Katy, TX
  • April 08, 2019

Not happy with the home and quality

KB Home responded:
Hello Peyman, we are sorry for any frustration with your home. If you would like assistance with this matter, please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will put you in touch with a KB Home division manager. Best wishes. -- Brian ... More

star-rating KB Home - Not very good customer service

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Felipe A.
  • Thornton, CO
  • March 19, 2019

Not very good customer service

KB Home responded:
Hello Felipe, we are sorry for your frustration and would like to help. Please e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com, and we will put you in touch with a KB Home division manager to assist with any issues you are having. –Brian ... More

star-rating Disappointing Experience

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Kevin H.
  • Katy, TX
  • January 26, 2019

Expecting a wonderful home building experience but had major issues with sales staff and construction. Construction quality was substandard from the framers to the finishers. Walls are not square. Everything was done half way right. Had to stay on top of them everything step of the way and we still had issues. Poor communication from sales staff and construction manager. Great experience with KB Mortgage and Design Center staff. We love the floor plan and the location but so disappointed in construction experience. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello Kevin, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for any frustration with the construction experience. If you have not already contacted Customer Care regarding this issues you mentioned, please feel free to email us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will put you in touch with a KB Home division manager. –Brian ... More

Narrow Reviews by Area: