What Homeowners Have to Say About KB Home

KB Home has reputation for building quality new construction homes. Their satisfied homeowners give them an average rating of 4.6 stars for their beautiful floor plans and affordable upgrades, their skilled craftsmanship, and commitment to customer service on each house they build. You can read all of KB Home’s 2447 homeowner reviews to learn why they are the right team to build your new home.

4.6 out of 5 stars
in all areas

star-rating

2447 Reviews - 318 Communities

5 ★(1822)

4 ★(332)

3 ★(150)

2 ★(87)

1 ★(56)

Quality 4.5

Trustworthiness 4.6

Value 4.6

Responsiveness 4.6

star-rating Very unorganized company

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Georgetown, TX
  • December 20, 2018

We moved in less than 3 months ago and the walls and ceilings are already starting to separate and show visible holes. There are 4 additional issues that we have been waiting to get addressed as well.

KB Home responded:
Hi, Kyler, if you need assistance with this, we'd be happy to help. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com. Best wishes. -- Lynn

star-rating Many issues that were not addressed before closing,

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Vicki G.
  • Castle Rock, CO
  • May 18, 2020

We had many items on our list from the walkthrough that needed to be addressed. Some minor and some major flaws. 6 weeks later nothing done or committed to being fixed. Spent $$$ on upgrades. Upgraded wood floors have defective boards, whitish color where stain is missing, many scratches and holes. Upgraded cabinets, inconsistent stain. whitish stain on several doors, scratches and doors falling off their hinges. I have personally fixed many items on our "to do list" The customer service people and sales people are all very nice and assure me they will fix issues. But Douglas County came off Stay at Home quarantine May 1st and I cannot get anything scheduled. The tell me no one will come inside to do repairs. They promised they would get all outside issues fixed, but not much done in last 3 weeks. I wish I could rate them higher on being trustworthy but I am afraid some items will never be fixed. We thought we were being diligent working with construction foreman during construction . My feeling is upper management is more concerned with closing homes, getting them off their books and making corporate quarterly projection than delivering a quality home. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hi Vicki, I’m very sorry for any frustration with the repairs. We would love to have somebody contact you regarding any concerns. Please email us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure a representative reaches out to you as soon as possible. -Nick ... More

star-rating Third time buyer - worst experience

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Clermont, FL
  • May 12, 2020

Disappointed with KB home - I get discriminators against and not valued as a third time home buyer.

KB Home responded:
Hello, I’m sorry that you’re disappointed with your experience. We would love to have somebody contact you regarding any concerns. Please email us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure a representative reaches out to you as soon as possible. -Brian ... More

star-rating KB Home - Sloppy

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Dylan S.
  • Gibsonton, FL
  • January 07, 2020

Sloppy

KB Home responded:
Hi Dylan, we're sorry for any frustration. If you would like assistance with your home, please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com. -Brian

star-rating KB Home - bad quality of the painting and kitchen

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Luiz A.
  • Windermere, FL
  • June 25, 2019

bad quality of the painting and kitchen

KB Home responded:
Hello Luiz, we are sorry for your frustration and would like to help. If you have not already contacted Customer Care regarding the issues you mention, please let us know. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. – Brian ... More

star-rating KB Home - Not happy with the home and quality

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Peyman E.
  • Katy, TX
  • April 08, 2019

Not happy with the home and quality

KB Home responded:
Hello Peyman, we are sorry for any frustration with your home. If you would like assistance with this matter, please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will put you in touch with a KB Home division manager. Best wishes. -- Brian ... More

star-rating KB Home - Not very good customer service

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Felipe A.
  • Thornton, CO
  • March 19, 2019

Not very good customer service

KB Home responded:
Hello Felipe, we are sorry for your frustration and would like to help. Please e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com, and we will put you in touch with a KB Home division manager to assist with any issues you are having. –Brian ... More

star-rating Disappointing Experience

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Kevin H.
  • Katy, TX
  • January 26, 2019

Expecting a wonderful home building experience but had major issues with sales staff and construction. Construction quality was substandard from the framers to the finishers. Walls are not square. Everything was done half way right. Had to stay on top of them everything step of the way and we still had issues. Poor communication from sales staff and construction manager. Great experience with KB Mortgage and Design Center staff. We love the floor plan and the location but so disappointed in construction experience. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello Kevin, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for any frustration with the construction experience. If you have not already contacted Customer Care regarding this issues you mentioned, please feel free to email us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will put you in touch with a KB Home division manager. –Brian ... More

star-rating Low quality poor workmanship

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Russell F.
  • Beaumont, CA
  • December 29, 2018

KB has a reputation of poor workmanship. No surprise this is what we bought.

KB Home responded:
Hello, Russell, we're sorry for any frustration. We'd like to help. If you wish to speak with a manager of KB Home, please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. Best wishes -- Lynn ... More

star-rating Worst experience

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Erik J.
  • Porter, TX
  • February 04, 2020

From the beginning of our home buying experience we’ve been misled, misinformed, inconvenienced and shown that customers and customer satisfaction is not a priority for KB homes. From random pricing changes and poor quality work to failure to communicate and overall difficulty to do business with, with the exception of the follow up and reliability of Mike, the super intendant, building and purchasing with KB is a grueling and terrible experience. I would not recommend building or purchasing from KB to anyone. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hi Erik, we're very sorry for any frustration. We can put you in touch with a manager of KB Home to discuss any concerns if you'd like. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. -Brian ... More

star-rating Disappointed after moving in

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Dong-Hwan J.
  • Bulverde, TX
  • January 14, 2020

We have had so many issues after moving in with things that were not done correctly and are very disappointed with the unresponsiveness and unresolved issues. The workers have come to our house on four different occasions due to issues with the countertop and it is still not resolved. We have taken off work numerous times already and are extremely disappointed. We had such a great experience with the sales person as well as all the meetings prior to moving in that we thought it would continue. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello Dong-Hwan, thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry for any frustration, if you would like to speak with a representative regarding your home, please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. – Brian ... More

star-rating Not happy

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Gilbert B.
  • Jacksonville, FL
  • October 29, 2019

We have made several complaints, we were told certain things before buying and now those things are not true. We have had not one thing done with quality in the home, have had issues with door hinges coming off, windows with scratches on them, broken doors, chipped tile, broken and chipped cabinets, flaws in our counter tops, issues with plumbing, poor craftsmanship of walls, power sockets, trim, tile in bathrooms, sprinklers on wrong property, holes in our driveway, dents in cabinets and front door and roof, uneven work done, the stone on the front of house looks sloppy. And now to be having to deal with all of this and taking time off work to have contractors come back to fix things that should have been done right the first time is unacceptable. We are regretting buying this home due to its poor quality and lack of response from management. We have been in the home for 2 months and still have several issues that we are waiting to be addressed. Would never recommend anyone to buy from KB. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hi Gilbert, we are very sorry for any frustration and would love to have somebody contact you. Please email us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure a manager reaches out to you as quickly as possible. -Brian ... More

star-rating Poor Workmanship. No follow-up from KB on completion of construction

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Steven A.
  • West Melbourne, FL
  • August 11, 2019

Before closing, KB was unable to get trades to finish or repair poor workmanship. Closing was delayed due to unfinished and poor workmanship. KB drywall & concrete contractors produce deplorable work. The interior walls were not sanded prior to paint and orange-peel was unsuccessfully used to attempt to mask workmanship defects. After closing: Most trades are slow to respond to warranty issues. KB super does not follow up with contractors or homeowner on repair/rework status. Two months have passed and several warranty items have not been addressed. Specifically: Electrical defects in outlets, missing light fixtures, french door alignment/adjustment, shower doors in both bathrooms need replaced (was told this would be upgraded August 2nd with no response to date), paint touch-up after drywall work. We get lip service from KB representatives when we elevate issues. We are told things will happen or that they are working on a resolution, but then have no communication for weeks, only to find that nothing has been done to fix issues. Leaks in tile grout are now causing damage to interior walls. In summary, the finish work on the house is terrible and KB home supers will not follow-up without my constant reminder. At this point I will neither purchase nor endorse the purchase of KB Home. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hi Steven, we acknowledge that you are frustrated with you home and overall experience. We've forwarded your feedback to KB Home management, and it's our understanding you are in touch with a member of the KB Home Jacksonville team to look into your concerns. We will provide him with your comments, as well. -- Lynn ... More

star-rating Poor Treatment

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Clayton C.
  • Saint Augustine, FL
  • January 18, 2019

We closed before the certificate of occupation was issued and could not move in until a day after signing. The house has many issues from poor construction to a yard that floods. The poor construction was identified and we were told that it would be fixed. We are now over a month into this process and very little has been fixed and nothing major. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello Clayton, we're very sorry for any frustration with the construction. If you would like to speak with a representative, we can put you in touch with a manager to look into any concerns. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. – Brian ... More

star-rating KB Home - There are so many things that were overlooked, I wish that I’d

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Kristen W.
  • Porter, TX
  • December 20, 2018

There are so many things that were overlooked, I wish that I’d had done better research into all the complaints with kB home before.

KB Home responded:
Hi, Kristen, we're very sorry for any frustration. We can put you in touch with a manager of KB Home to discuss any concerns if you'd like. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. Best wishes. -Lynn ... More

star-rating Not completely happy!

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Denver, CO
  • December 20, 2018

Sales staff (Theresa), GC (Glendon, Oz), warranty (Jaime)and design center (Jenna) personnel were great, responsive and awesome to work with so our scores don’t reflect on them in anyway. Current issues or qestions are dealt with quickly. Issues brought up to higher personnel during build were never corrected or solutions were never offer so we were stuck what we got. The renderings did not match our final product because that’s all we could go off of. The materials (stone, paint and elevation)were altered and not addressed with us on how it would “really” look. VP didn’t want to correct an exterior we didn’t like or select, or even offer another solution to any of our concerns or discrepancies, “sucks to be you” outcome. Poor customer service on her part and almost ruined our entire experience and considered very hard to pull out completely. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello, Anthony, we appreciate your feedback on your experience, and we will be sure to share your comments with KB Home division management. Best wishes. -Lynn

star-rating Love the home, the lawn is a swamp

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 5

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Darwin W.
  • Humble, TX
  • January 17, 2019

We have lived in the home over 3 months now. We love the house and neighborhood. We were very satisfied with our sales rep and the gentleman who oversaw all the construction - I rated them both "10"s. However, I've reported in writing numerous times that the back lawn is a swamp that never drains, and KB Homes is doing absolutely nothing about it. We can't walk across the lawn without waterproof boots. We cannot mow the lawn because a mower won't make it through the mud. The dogs cannot go outside without getting their feet wet. We certainly can't play any lawn games. I'm at the point where I'm ready to report this to the Better Business Bureau or one of those "on your side" local news stories. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello, Darwin, thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any frustration and will forward your comments to the local KB Home division management. If you wish to be contacted to discuss this matter, please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. -- Lynn ... More

star-rating If it wasnt for the deal we would have walked

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Moreno Valley, CA
  • May 25, 2019

Do your homework and be prepared to fight with financing. Do not go off what they tell you and make sure you get a preapproval from an outside lender to compare.

KB Home responded:
Hello, we are sorry for any frustration. If you wish to be contacted to discuss your concerns, please email CustomerRelations@kbhome.com, and we will put you in touch with KB Home division management. -Brian ... More

star-rating KB Home - I Don't Say name but lots people not happy about this kb home

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 5

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Ajay K.
  • Austin, TX
  • May 07, 2020

I Don't Say name but lots people not happy about this kb home because ENG did not help

KB Home responded:
Hi Ajay, I’m sorry that you’re disappointed with your experience. We would love to have somebody contact you regarding any concerns. Please email us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure a representative reaches out to you as soon as possible. -James ... More

star-rating Really Poor Quality

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Anonymous
  • Newark, CA
  • October 09, 2019

Really disappointed with the some of the house quality feature vs what being communicated.

KB Home responded:
Hello, we're very sorry for any frustration. We can put you in touch with a manager of KB Home to discuss any concerns if you'd like. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. -Brian ... More

star-rating Issues with house

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • Riverside, CA
  • September 10, 2019

House has been a nightmare since moving in. There has been a mile long list of issues and super hard to get issues fixed and fixed correctly

KB Home responded:
Hello, we are very sorry for any frustration and would love to have somebody contact you regarding your concerns. Please email us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure a representative reaches out to you as quickly as possible. -Brian ... More

star-rating Poor Customer Relations

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Mary C.
  • Mesa, AZ
  • July 02, 2019

KB charged me an $800 capricious fee for delay of escrow. The delay was because KB ignored and then flatly refused to provide information to my outside lender. Beware! If you intend to use an outside lender you will probably run into problems.

KB Home responded:
Hi Mary Jo, we are sorry for any frustration and will share your comments with KB Home division management. If you wish to be contacted to discuss your concerns or if you have any questions about your home, please do not hesitate to contact us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com. -Brian ... More

star-rating Poorly Built & Bad Customer Service

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Anonymous
  • Rocklin, CA
  • February 26, 2020

Horrible sales staff, not customer service friendly, wood that was used to build our home had mold on it, contractors used to build our home were very unqualified and our concerns were not taken seriously. I will never buy another KB home again, ever! ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello, we're very sorry for any frustration. If you would like to speak with a manager of KB Home to discuss any concerns, please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. -Brian ... More

star-rating KB Home - Worst house buying experience I’ve ever had

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Patricia M.
  • North Las Vegas, NV
  • August 22, 2019

Worst house buying experience I’ve ever had

KB Home responded:
Hello Patricia, we are sorry for any frustration and would like to help. If you have not already contacted Customer Care regarding your experience, please let us know. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. – Brian ... More

star-rating KB Home - Dissatisfaction

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Austin, TX
  • April 14, 2020

Dissatisfaction

KB Home responded:
Hello, I’m very sorry that you are dissatisfied. We would love to have somebody contact you regarding any concerns. Please email us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure a representative reaches out to you as soon as possible. -Brian ... More

Narrow Reviews by Area: