What Homeowners Have to Say About KB Home

KB Home has reputation for building quality new construction homes. Their satisfied homeowners give them an average rating of 4.6 stars for their beautiful floor plans and affordable upgrades, their skilled craftsmanship, and commitment to customer service on each house they build. You can read all of KB Home’s 2447 homeowner reviews to learn why they are the right team to build your new home.

4.6 out of 5 stars
in all areas

star-rating

2447 Reviews - 318 Communities

5 ★(1822)

4 ★(332)

3 ★(150)

2 ★(87)

1 ★(56)

Quality 4.5

Trustworthiness 4.6

Value 4.6

Responsiveness 4.6

star-rating Poor Craftsman

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Anonymous
  • Marana, AZ
  • January 16, 2020

Beautiful location, but construction of the home is not worth the price we paid. The craftsman is of poor quality. It is has been a huge headache dealing with all the issues we found around the house. The customer service has been good to send out the different trades to get the issues addressed, but some of the issues remain. The house was built too quickly and the attention to detail was horrendous. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello, we are sorry for any frustration and would like to help. If you have not already contacted Customer Care regarding the issues you mention, please let us know. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. –James ... More

star-rating Worst.Buying.Experience

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Kyle R.
  • Ormond Beach, FL
  • November 12, 2019

There isn’t enough room here to cover everything that didn't come remotely close to meeting expectations. My advice to prospective buyers, do your research and look for options elsewhere.

KB Home responded:
Hi Kyle, I’m sorry that you’re disappointed with your experience. We would love to have somebody contact you regarding any concerns. Please email us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure a representative reaches out to you as soon as possible. -James ... More

star-rating Poor value for the home and property

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Anonymous
  • Mesa, AZ
  • November 09, 2019

KB took shortcuts while building the home, including placement of electrical outlets and number of switches operating the lights. KB repeatedly stated they would fix a mistake, but did not. KB charged lot premiums with no reasonable explanations. KB did not explain all features of the home and property, resulting in purchasing options that were not necessary. Home features are on the low end. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello, we are sorry for any frustration with your home. If you have not already reached out to Customer Care regarding the issues you mention, please let us know. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. – James ... More

star-rating Not Worth what we paid for it..

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Glendale, AZ
  • September 20, 2019

This particular home was not built painted or constructed in the quality and which KB promotes.

KB Home responded:
Hello, We're sorry for any frustration with your home. If you would like to speak with a representative, we can put you in touch with a manager to look into your concerns. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance and we will ensure you are contacted. – Brian ... More

star-rating Terrible quality control / worse customer service

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Saint Augustine, FL
  • June 24, 2020

Quality control was non-existent. Very frustrating when promises are made to fix issues and appointments are repeatedly blown off and go unresolved. KB has no regard for integrity or quality. Refuse to display my name to avoid repercussions. Try any other builder ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello, I’m very sorry that you’re disappointed with your experience. We would love to have somebody contact you regarding any concerns. Please email us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure a representative reaches out to you as soon as possible. -Brian ... More

star-rating so bad

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Abbas M.
  • Leander, TX
  • June 12, 2020

contracture manager and financing they did not knowledge . Some place my home has problem and we had not orientation and we never get our house on time.

KB Home responded:
Hi, Abbas, we're very sorry for any frustration. We can put you in touch with a manager of KB Home to discuss any concerns if you'd like. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance and we will ensure you are contacted. -James ... More

star-rating Finish is not complete

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Lake View Terrace, CA
  • April 07, 2020

-Cabinet door was broken (will be replaced). -Bathroom: washstand sink was broken but glued (if it was the worker's mistake, it should have done at that time; it was replaced after we found it after we moved in) -Paint finish - not professional (especially bottom area; not seen; but when lying on the floor, it becomes visible) -Front door finish - a big hole between door knob and door frame. -Door from garage to kitchen: loud noise (replaced) - a big hole between door knob & door frame as well -Some room doors' painting - rough -No door between master room and bathroom (it was optional but it is too late to realize that it should not be optional). We plan to install it with an additional cost. -Kitchen window is the most hard to open while all the other windows are easily opened. We use the kitchen door most often. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello, I'm very sorry for any frustration. We would love to have somebody contact you regarding any concerns. Please email us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure a representative reaches out to you as soon as possible. -James ... More

star-rating Sad experience

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Sandor M.
  • West Melbourne, FL
  • January 14, 2020

Customer always comes first. You need to do this in order to achieve success.

KB Home responded:
Hi Sandor, I'm very sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience. Please feel free to email us additional information at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will put you in touch with a division manager. Best Wishes. -Brian ... More

star-rating No trust in thiBuilder!!

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Anselmo C.
  • San Antonio, TX
  • January 07, 2020

Always stay active and inspect the quality of work. Show up when least expected. I moved in 5 Nov. 2019 and here it is Jan. 2020 and still having all kinds of problems.

KB Home responded:
Hi Anselmo, we'd love to have somebody contact you. Please email us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure a manager reaches out to you as quickly as possible. Best wishes. -James ... More

star-rating Low

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Michael D.
  • Harbor City, CA
  • January 07, 2020

I still have things waiting to get done for when I first moved in nobody ever called me about my house vibrating when trash trucks go by . Very disappointed

KB Home responded:
Hello Michael, we are sorry for any frustration and would like to help. If you have not already contacted Customer Care regarding the issues you mention, please let us know. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. – Brian ... More

star-rating Not impressed

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Duane W.
  • Venice, FL
  • December 03, 2019

Multiple issues with quality of material and workmanship.

KB Home responded:
Hi Duane, We're sorry for any frustration with your home and materials. If you would like to speak with a representative, we can put you in touch with a manager to look into your concerns. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance and we will ensure someone reaches out to you. –Nick ... More

star-rating Terrible

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Dragon W.
  • New Braunfels, TX
  • April 23, 2019

You turned me down for a loan of 240K. My income is 250k a year and my net worth is 5.5 million. I paid cash for the house. I understand large corporations have rules. They also have no common sense.

star-rating KB Home - Many issues

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Sharene C.
  • Las Vegas, NV
  • February 21, 2019

Many issues

KB Home responded:
Hi, Sharene, thank you for your feedback. If you would like to be contacted by a representative of KB Home to discuss these issues, please let us know. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. – Brian ... More

star-rating Not what we were promised.

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Jason S.
  • San Antonio, TX
  • July 07, 2020

Our house seemed rushed and not complete. We paid lots for an incomplete house. Cole was helping us get everything taken care of, then they let him go leaving us with people that did not take customer service as seriously as he did. Now that Cole is back, which we are sooooo relieved by, hopefully things will get corrected for us. Our original salesman Scott has been awesome as well. Cole and Scott were the only ones that cared about us. ... More

star-rating Horrible experience

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Darren G.
  • Leander, TX
  • April 21, 2020

no one listens anyways why write the story again

KB Home responded:
Hi Darren, we are sorry for any frustration and would love to have somebody contact you. Please e-mail us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure a representative reaches out to you as quickly as possible. --James ... More

star-rating Regret

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Jasmine V.
  • San Antonio, TX
  • March 24, 2020

I bought a brand new home, with that I expected it to perfect inside. There have been so many issues in my house and still are. They have attempted to fix some things, but they still don’t look acceptable. Contractors that are doing my work don’t seem be professional and you can tell in their work. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hi Jasmine, I’m very sorry that you’re disappointed with your experience. We would love to have somebody contact you regarding any concerns. Please email us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure a representative reaches out to you as soon as possible. -Nick ... More

star-rating Very disappointed!

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Castle Rock, CO
  • January 21, 2020

KB promises 100% completion before move-in, but they did not deliver on their promise. Our home was far from being completed with numerous flaws and construction problems. We are still dealing with issues that have not be fixed or even addressed. Our neighbors have similar or worse issues. I have purchased other new home in the past and have never had such a bad experience. If I had to do it over again, I would not buy a KB home. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hi, we're very sorry that you are disappointed with your experience. Please feel free to reach out to us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com to discuss any concerns and we will ensure you are contacted. -James ... More

star-rating Constantly aggravated

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Lawrence S.
  • Surprise, AZ
  • November 30, 2019

Check your build daily the contractors hired are unskilled labor

KB Home responded:
Hi Lawrence, I'm very sorry that you're disappointed with your experience. Please email us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com with your information and we will ensure a representative reaches out to you as soon as possible. Best wishes -Brian ... More

star-rating Horrible experience

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Victor V.
  • Aurora, CO
  • September 03, 2019

I would never recommend a KB home to anyone based on my experience.

KB Home responded:
Hi Victor, we're very sorry for any frustration. We can put you in touch with a manager of KB Home to discuss any concerns if you'd like. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. -Brian ... More

star-rating Current evaluation based on rotted wood fence.

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Scott P.
  • Georgetown, TX
  • January 29, 2019

Two sides of the backyard fence are made of the cheapest driftwood. Even a small dog can push its way through and 2 dogs have come into my yard through that flimsy fence. And when it rains, the wood is soft and can crumble off by itself. Why would a builder use that type of "wood" for a new home? I've been without the screen to my master bathroom window for almost 2 months now. KB Homes should follow through with replacing the 2 sides of rotten wood/fence and providing the screen for the master bathroom window. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hi Scott, We're sorry for any frustration with your fence and screen. If you would like to speak with a representative, we can put you in touch with a manager to look into your concerns. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. – Brian ... More

star-rating Disappointed

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Robert L.
  • Riverside, CA
  • March 24, 2020

The experience started off a little troubling dealing with the sales office. Once we showed serious interest in a new home purchase, every thing everything was suddenly rushed. Hurry and give a deposit, hurry and sign mountains of paperwork. Always giving me deadlines. At one point I, asked for an extra day to have my attorney review the contract for the lot/future home. The next day I received an email from the sales office telling me our contract was void, that our lot was now back on the market and if I wanted to restart the process, the cost of the lot will go up $2000! Another thing that seemed rushed was picking options on everything. I don't feel you can make all of your decisions in one sitting and be confident in those choices. There should allow more than one session at the design studio so you can be sure you are happy with your choices. During the building process we would stop by and check on the progress. The framing seemed fine. I do not know all the codes the have to follow so I assume the framing is good. But seeing the drywall going in, I started noticing obvious concerns. There were places that broken sheets of drywall were installed and cut outs around outlets and switches were huge, to the point that they had to fill with mud because outlet and switch covers would not be big enough(many were like that after texture and paint). Maybe this is standard practice in the construction industry? I don't know. Then the part that truly matters, the finished product that everyone sees, was disappointing. The paint job was sloppy, workmanship is poor. Outlet covers and switch covers had paint on them or some places they didn't paint close enough so there is a noticeable gap with no paint. I found places when the window sills were painted, they also painted parts of the window frame and just left it like that. Couldn't they remove the covers and use tape to prevent this? Maybe they don't as a common practice in that industry? Again, I don't know. There are places where the baseboard is pieced together instead of just using one piece. I'm not talking about 6, 8, 10 feet or whatever length a full piece is. I'm talking about joints a couple feet apart. That would be fine but at least make a real attempt to hide the joint. Some of the cabinet were all scratched, doors scratched or with small holes all over. I could go on, but you get the idea. Obviously a very rushed job all the way around. This is in a home that costs about $500,000. At what price point do you get quality work??? I thought for that price, I shouldn't be seeing the poor work that I am. I do have to say that KB has gone back over and tried to fix some of the issues I raised. But when the overall workmanship started out poor, it is difficult to make it all good. Maybe I expected too much going into this process, but still very disappointed. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hi, Robert, we are very sorry for any frustration. If you have not already contacted Customer Care regarding the issues you mention, please let us know if we can assist. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. – Nick ... More

star-rating Disappointed

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Milpitas, CA
  • March 17, 2020

I have lived in a KB home all my life. My parents have owned two KB Homes and when given the opportunity to purchase my very own KB Home came about, I was excited. Unfortunately, the experiences I have had were not the same as my parents. I expected more from a long time and reputable builder such as KB Home. For the amount of money I have paid, you would think the workmanship would be at the ultimate highest level. What was even more disappointing is the "talking out of both sides of the mouth" that occurred. I was told things probably just to appease me and then there was no follow through; totally "ghosted". What made matters even worse, one customer service person tried to coerce me into giving a dishonest review, when I only spoke the truth from my experience, and because of that review, I was told they would not be doing something they said they would do, which I ended up having to come out of pocket for. Furthermore, I have taken to managing the "fixes" needed in my "new" house and currently working with a great person from another department to get things taken care of. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello, I’m very sorry that you are disappointed with your experience. We would love to have somebody contact you regarding any concerns. Please email us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure a representative reaches out to you as soon as possible. -Nick ... More

star-rating Horrible experience

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Angelo A.
  • Stockton, CA
  • January 15, 2020

I felt like I was lied to over and over by the district manager the regional manager sales and so on I had a horrible experience

KB Home responded:
Hi Angelo, we'd love to have somebody contact you regarding your experience. Please feel free to email us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure a manager reaches out to you as quickly as possible. -James ... More

star-rating More negatives than positives. Incomplete. Amateur jobs.

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Linda H.
  • Ormond Beach, FL
  • January 14, 2020

It wasn’t anywhere close to the experience we had hoped to get from purchasing our first home as a family. And unfortunately, we can never get that back. You live and you learn.

KB Home responded:
Hi Linda, we're very sorry for any frustration. We can put you in touch with a manager of KB Home to discuss any concerns if you'd like. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. -James ... More

star-rating Unhappy Customer

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Vanessa B.
  • Fresno, CA
  • December 10, 2019

I am unhappy with my KB Home. The home was quickly built and it shows. My walls are not straight and the interior paint is horrible. I will not buy another KB Home in the future and can’t wait to sell this one soon.

KB Home responded:
Hey Vanessa, it sounds like you're frustrated. We'd really like to help, please feel free to reach out to us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we can put you in touch with a division manager to assist with these matters. --James ... More

Narrow Reviews by Area: