What Homeowners Have to Say About Lennar in Charlotte

Read the 74 homeowner reviews of Lennar's new homes in the Charlotte area. Charlotte homeowners rated Lennar an average 3.8 stars for the quality of their new homes and their commitment to customer service. You can read all of Lennar’s reviews, to learn why their homeowners loved working with them, and why you should partner with them build your dream home.

3.8 out of 5 stars
in the Charlotte area

star-rating

74 Reviews - 33 Communities

5 ★(29)

4 ★(17)

3 ★(14)

2 ★(7)

1 ★(7)

Quality 3.6

Trustworthiness 3.8

Value 4.1

Responsiveness 3.9

star-rating Bad drywall installation

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Anonymous
  • Charlotte, NC
  • July 30, 2019

Whoever put up the drywall on our home is terrible. Pop up nails everywhere. We can see the repairs on the ceiling. Bad cover up job.

Lennar responded:
Thank you for your feedback about the drywall in your new home. If you have any outstanding items needing attention, please email us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com, so we can follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating New Home Purchase

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Charlotte, NC
  • July 25, 2019

The Quality of House is great, but when it is thrown together in minimal time it loses it's Luster. We're continuously finding major/minor defects. Crooked walls, creaking floors that seem as if not completely nailed down, sink stopper that won't stay connected... In the yard multiply holes and ridges from unsuitable rolling of the grass, regularly finding pieces of metal and rocks under the non growing grass. Responsiveness to issues maybe prompt, but a better or additional title would be "Accomplishment of Issues in a Timely Manner". The spokesperson is always available, but as the middle voice has no authority to getting anything done. Just an opportunity to separate, pause and create an allusion of things could possibly being accomplished. Love the House and Area, but Sadden & Disappointed in the Lack of Attention to Detail & Quality, over a focus of Quantity in the Quickest of time. ... More

Lennar responded:
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your new home with us. We are sorry to hear about the issues you have discovered. If you have any additional items that we can assist with, please email us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Sales Process Excellent/After Sale Responsiveness Could Be Better

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • James E.
  • Huntersville, NC
  • June 21, 2019

1st: The sales process is excellent. Lennar and the sales team kept us informed throughout the build. Always available to answer to question. Access to the home during the build is excellent. 2nd: The floorplan, pictures, and model representation may not be exactly what you get. Make sure you ask specific questions about what is and is not included in the home. Don’t assume because it is in the floorplans, pictures, and model it will be in your home. 3rd: Lennar does not offer much in the way of options. You can’t get additional lighting in the house, you can’t get an additional gas line run to the backyard for a fire pit or grill, you can’t get additional electrical outlets installed in the house or outside (for outside lighting). It is easier to install these during construction than after. These are all extras I would have been willing to pay for, but wasn’t given an option. With that said, the house does come with a lot of standard features that most new builds don’t come with, and you would probably have to pay for with other builders. 4th : The house is structurally sound according to our independent house inspector we hired to inspect the home during the build. (Strongly recommend you do this with any home you buy) However, we found a lot of issues during our walk through that should have been addressed prior to the walk through. (This is not our first home purchase so we knew what to expect) We found cracked concrete, paint splatters inside and outside the house (walls, ceilings, floors, and fixtures), dryer and oven not installed correctly, fan vent cover missing or not installed, window seal cracked, weather stripping coming off. In my opinion, I think there is so much building going on that the builders are having a hard time finding enough qualified people in the trades to do the work. So, they are rushing to complete homes. And that can lead to sloppy work. There is a lack of attention to detail. 5th: Landscaping is poorly installed. The good thing is that the whole yard is soded. It is not seed and straw like some of the other builders. However, they laid the sod over everything, (trash, nails, pipes, rocks). They didn’t go through and regrade and clean up the lot prior to laying the sod. 6th: Trying to get things fixed after the sale can be difficult. All service requests must be made through the web site. And that is not easy to navigate. Our first requests took more that three weeks before we got any action. And some items took longer to fix. Again, I think it’s because the builders are having a hard time finding qualified people to do the work. 7th: The current HOA is slow to respond. Getting things approved takes way to long. Getting a response from the HOA takes a while. The landscaping of the common areas (except for the pool is poor). Hopefully this will improve when the homeowners take it over. Currently the builder controls the HOA. 8th: While I understand there are several homes under construction. Lennar could have the sub-contractors do a better job of cleaning up trash they leave around the community. The least they could do is have the dumpsters emptied more frequently. That would fix 90% of the trash issue. ... More

Lennar responded:
Hi James, thank you for providing so much detail about your experience. We appreciate the comments about the various processes and what we could do to improve them going forward. We are currently working through redesigning the form on our website and apologize for any frustration you've experienced. If you have additional comments or items you would like us to review, please send a message to us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com. Thank you again. ... More

star-rating Non responsive to issues

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Donald F.
  • Waxhaw, NC
  • July 23, 2019

Promises were made to repair the hill behind our house and they have not followed through

Lennar responded:
Hi Donald, thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We are sorry to hear about this matter. Please email us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with the details, so we can follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Lennar - Not the highest standards on quality.

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Francisco P.
  • Waxhaw, NC
  • July 09, 2019

Not the highest standards on quality.

Lennar responded:
Hi Francisco, thank you for sharing your feedback about the quality of your new home. Please send a message to us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any outstanding items, so we can review and follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Lennar - The house is well insulated, but the lightning and bathroom fixtures

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Richard S.
  • Troutman, NC
  • October 28, 2020

The house is well insulated, but the lightning and bathroom fixtures need to upgraded. Who ever you are using to finish the yard need to be replaced, because the grade of the back of the house could have been done better, and they just throw the sod down. ... More

star-rating They Use The Cheapest Materials Possible

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • James P.
  • Davidson, NC
  • March 04, 2020

I have lived in my Lennar home for almost six months now. I have come to find out that pretty much all the materials used in the building of my townhome are the cheapest product available. If given a choice I wouldn't buy a home from this company again. ... More

star-rating Mediocre

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • Charlotte, NC
  • November 21, 2019

The buying process was okay, the only person that was incredibly responsive was the sales agent, and he had already secured the sale. Construction Manager changed 3 times in less that 4 months, and quite a few items we asked weren’t done. It could have certainly been worse but absolutely could have been better. ... More

star-rating Will promise things before you close then never do them

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Patrick R.
  • Davidson, NC
  • February 26, 2020

I was promised during my walk through that the huge hill of mud beside my home would be removed. It is also being used as a trash dump. Been over 4 months now and absolutely nothing has been done about it. If you drive down the alley behind Caite ridge road you can’t miss it under the power line. I guess since all homes on that street are sold it no longer matters. ... More

star-rating Shoddy workmanship.

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Timothy K.
  • Davidson, NC
  • October 01, 2019

Make you understand the HOA regulations. People with two and three cars aren’t “qualified” for a townhouse. Garages are for cars. They aren’t storage bins. Garbage cans are everywhere as are cars.

Lennar responded:
Hi Timothy, thank you for your comments about your home and community. Please feel free to share any additional comments with us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com, so we can review and follow up for you. - Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Put it on are web page...

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Raymond A.
  • Rockwell, NC
  • March 24, 2020

Well we moved in and were told if there are any problems there a web page put all your problems there....If to bought a phone and I told you that there was a web site to go to if you have connection problems and you can't get on line how would you feel ?we have nails backing out..flooring problems..and paint that has piled back drive way cracks and you can't even have someone stop by know instead you send out surveys to make you feel better See how good we are..Ya no.....word of mouth go's a long way ... More

Lennar responded:
I'm sorry to hear you are having difficulties communicating your concerns to us. Please send us an email to corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with your feedback, contact information and home address so we can provide you with better guidance on other methods you can use to submit your requests. ... More

star-rating Below average craftsmanship (that’s being generous)

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Anonymous
  • Troutman, NC
  • March 02, 2020

After living in the home for a few months we have found the level of craftsmanship to be below average. The yards they put in are already weed filled and we have had landscape companies advise the sod needs removed the soil needs treated and yard will need re sodded if we want to have a lawn however they stated that with the neighbors lawns being as bad and worse than ours it’s going to be a never ending battle. Also, the drywall finish is a joke. We have removed all ceiling light fixtures and use only lamps because the ceilings are an embarrassment I hate to even have people in the spare bedrooms it’s so bad. We also had a company come in and fix all the nail pops in the downstairs (we did this within the first month because it was so bad). We were aware we purchased a tract home and knew the quality would be less than any custom home. However, never did we think it would be this bad. I would also tell new buyers to be very aware of the “deals” advertised we purchased a home that met all criteria for the “summer deals package” and once we had a agreed on a purchase price we were then told we would NOT be given the advertised “deal” which is very frustrating as neighbors received this deal and those homes did not even meet the criteria. I have reached out numerous times to try to get an explanation as to why we were denied these incentives with NO answer. It’s very frustrating. When you see them advertise “Everything Is Included” that is absolutely not the truth. Believe me. ... More

Lennar responded:
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your new home. We are sorry to hear about the issues you described. Please email us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any outstanding items, so we can research and follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Not awful, but not great

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • Charlotte, NC
  • July 09, 2019

Pick someone else

Lennar responded:
Thank you for your comment. Please feel free to contact us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any outstanding items or concerns, so we can follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Unsatisfactory Workmanship

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Alan S.
  • Davidson, NC
  • September 24, 2019

The workmanship was poor. Lots of issues to attention to detail. When I complained, the construction managers response was that the brand new home was meant to be lived in. That response floored. I would not buy from Lennar again.

Lennar responded:
Hi Alan, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. We apologize for any issues you have experienced with your new home. Please email any outstanding items to corporatecustomercare@lennar.com and we will follow up for you. - Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating problems not solved

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Elizabeth R.
  • Mount Holly, NC
  • March 17, 2020

I like my house but I find that the builder is not responsive to problems

Lennar responded:
Hi Elizabeth, thank you for your comments. Please email us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com if you would like to provide any additional detail, so we can follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Good Home | Not A Good Co.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Travis P.
  • Troutman, NC
  • April 17, 2020

Slow to respond to issues. Shady in advertising and promotions. Make sure they give you the right keys if you do buy, or you’ll be like me, locked out of your own home on moving day.

Lennar responded:
Hi Travis, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear about the lack of response and issues you have experienced with your new home. Please send us a message at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any outstanding items and we will follow up for you. - Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Extremely Disappointed

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Verdell B.
  • Charlotte, NC
  • May 09, 2020

The process in the application was ok, however, information regarding what was covered and offered, was not clearly explained. The price for HOA dues were incorrectly quoated which caused some descrepiency with the HOA once moved in, HOA stating the price was higher. I have yet to speak to a HOA Rep. with a live voice, I only get e-mails, which some are just a paste and resend copy from a previous onversation. There were issues such as broken blind, structural repairs needed, paint issues, wiring issues, grass spots missing in yard which is still messed up and it has been 5 months. The insulation is weak. You can hear conversations throughout the house from upstairs to downstairs. During the WALK-Thru, we were informed by Construction Rep., all issues be taken care of after the closing, it is quite apparent it was not, and just a, if we get you to sign, our job is done. The house is a beautiful plan, but extremely "POORLY" built in construction. The Money that is spent to to purchase what we thought would be our "Dream Home" has been dampen by the issues, and the process in getting the issues corrected. In "Hind-Sight", I almost regret cancelling my Agreement with Taylor Morrison Homes, the construction and warranty of the home was "Elite". Lennar offered more features, but, is it worth the long-term hassels? I guess you would have to turn the old saying around, "You Don't Get What You Pay For" !! ... More

Lennar responded:
Hi Verdell, thank you for your feedback about the frustrations you have experienced with your new home. We apologize for any difficulties you've had. Please feel free to share any additional comments with us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com, so we can review and follow-up for you. - Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Terrible overall experience

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • Charlotte, NC
  • February 26, 2020

The builders completely missed our change request order, had we not found it ourselves by driving by, it would have not been caught u til too late. This happened twice during the build. And don’t even think about trying to use their financing company, most unprofessional and joke of a lending company ... More

Lennar responded:
Thank you for your feedback about your experience. We truly hope things have improved for you. Please send us a message at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com if you would like to share more and we will research and follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Horrible repair and maintenance

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Saurabh G.
  • Mooresville, NC
  • July 09, 2019

1) Lawn was horrible at the time of closing. After 1 that I was told that it was layed months back without any property maintainanice. Due to this I have pay the expenses to replace it. 2) Restroom and others have issues 3) newly installed fridge needs repair Overall not happy of getting a brand new house and get these issues frequently ... More

Lennar responded:
Hi Saurabh, thank you for your comments. We are sorry about the items you described. Please send a message to us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any outstanding items, so we can follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Not a reliable builder to depend on for one’s dream home

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Rama M.
  • Charlotte, NC
  • March 24, 2020

Not a realizable builder to construct your dream home. Lennar is not responsive and still there are preclosig items pending even after 5 months of closing .

Lennar responded:
Hi Rama, thank you for sharing your comments about your new home buying experience. We are sorry to hear about the outstanding issues you mentioned. Please email us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any outstanding items or additional details, so we can follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Beautiful Area; Lacking in Commitment to Customers

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Charlotte, NC
  • August 26, 2019

They state they’re the leading builder of QUALITY homes, which demonstrate COMMITMENT to customers, OUTSTANDING construction, and dedication to EXCELLENCE in homebuying. In our experience, they do not practice what they promote or have written as their core priniples; Quality —- Value —- Integrity. From the beginning of our home buying experience (started June 2018), to our current new homeowner status (moved in late spring 2019), we do not find we’ve been given the quality, value or integrity we’ve been promised. As new homeowners we find the “Customer Care Representatives” to need a title change of “Lacking Care Consultants”... they respond ONCE with a “I forwarded the problem to another department”, but they don’t give any other information or solution to your concern/problem...THEN it becomes your job to follow-up, remind them of said issue, document EVERYTHING & include pictures, as well as continue to ask detailed, specific questions, because they respond with a “I haven’t heard anything yet, still waiting”... then give a reason (AN EXCUSE) of why it will take awhile & how we (the customer) need to be patient. Currently we are dealing with flooding issues, and after reaching out to multiple people in Customer Care, the Lennar sales office @ the welcome center, & our HOA, the QUALITY & COMMITMENT to us as customers, and our environmentally protected area (in which the flooding caused major run-off of construction debris & trash to go into the lake, let alone cause damage to our property) seems to be of little VALUE. We did receive ONE response saying they did something to help drain the water, however, the evidence of the clogged grates & TRASH (seriously, they LEFT the trash that is all over the grates), remains exactly the same, even after 5 days. But as Anthony, the Lennar sales guy said, (over a week ago after I HAD TO FOLLOW-UP) “he is doing his best”, ... so that should help to reassure us, as new homeowners, of Lennar’s core principles. ... More

Lennar responded:
Thank you for sharing your comments about your experience with your new home and the Lennar team. We are sorry to hear about the issues you've had. Please email us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any outstanding items, so we can research and follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating New home

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • Charlotte, NC
  • November 17, 2019

Definitely did not do quality work. Fir as much as I paid I could have chosen a better builder.

Lennar responded:
Thank you for sharing this feedback about your new home. Please email us the details regarding your experience to corporatecustomercare@lennar.com, so we can follow up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating NHO property

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Kenneth H.
  • Waxhaw, NC
  • September 24, 2019

The property that was presented to us at the NHO include what is now call common area.

Lennar responded:
Hi Kenneth, thank you for your comments. Please email us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any additional questions you have, so we can research and follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Extremely poor experience

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Charlotte, NC
  • June 17, 2019

No detail to attention or considerations on how things are built - poor quality overall, lots of mistakes and defects. If you are asking for trouble and stress for life, then work with Lennar

Lennar responded:
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear about your experience and will be glad to look into these items for you. Please send an email to corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with your address and any outstanding items. We will review and follow-up. ... More